BIOS say i have 6GB of RAM, XP says 3GB...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2007, 04:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default BIOS say i have 6GB of RAM, XP says 3GB...?

i just bought 2x2GB sticks to accompany my 2x1GB sticks for my MSI P6N SLi motherboard. both sets are ddr2 800 and the Patriot brand. I've tried moving the sticks around, but all my other configurations stopped my computer from booting anything. Right now the working configuration for my Ram is the 2 1GB sticks in DIMM1&3, while the 2x2GB sticks are in DIMM2&4. i am wondering if this is crippling my performance. and if windows isn't using its full potential, then how can i make it?
__________________

rhode2nowere is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 09:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: BIOS say i have 6GB of RAM, XP says 3GB...?

XP wont recognize more than 3 gigs
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: BIOS say i have 6GB of RAM, XP says 3GB...?

If you have the 32bit XP, then what he said ^^. I don't believe it will hinder anything (i don't think) but the extra 3g of ram isn't going to be doing anything. If you upgrade to a 64bit version of XP you will be able to utilize it all.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: BIOS say i have 6GB of RAM, XP says 3GB...?

Upgrade to Vista 64 bit
turtile is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Re: BIOS say i have 6GB of RAM, XP says 3GB...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhode2nowere View Post
i just bought 2x2GB sticks to accompany my 2x1GB sticks for my MSI P6N SLi motherboard. both sets are ddr2 800 and the Patriot brand. I've tried moving the sticks around, but all my other configurations stopped my computer from booting anything. Right now the working configuration for my Ram is the 2 1GB sticks in DIMM1&3, while the 2x2GB sticks are in DIMM2&4. i am wondering if this is crippling my performance. and if windows isn't using its full potential, then how can i make it?
Besides being 32bit XP. Might also check this link. MSI's supported memory list.
Not saying it won't work. But could be the reason.

http://global.msi.com.tw/uploads/tes.../TR10_1141.pdf
__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
3GB of RAM Jewels New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-04-2007 01:33 PM
Upgrading RAM in laptop, NEED ADVICE. c_los Laptops and Notebooks 13 11-20-2007 02:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.