Bios recovery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2008, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Bios recovery

My computer wants to do a BIOS recovery and I have no idea why or how to fix it. Keeps searching for floppy but I do not have one. I do have an external floppy if i need it. Please help
__________________

alang78 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Bios recovery

Hello,

What is the make and model of hte PC? Have you gone to the manufacturer's site to get the latest version of the BIOS and put it on a floppy in your external drive for the PC to recover it?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Bios recovery

The computer is an hp pavilion a818n. I have not tried that but i will thanks!
alang78 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Bios recovery

FYI restoring BIOS from the floppy can take a while, so don't be afraid if it looks like it's not doing anything. I used to do this many times a day at work, took us like 20 mins to flash the BIOS of the Asus server boards we used lol.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Bios recovery

I can not get anything to show up on my monitor when i boot up monitor says no signal now.
alang78 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Bios recovery

Is this before or after you wiped the BIOS via diskette?

Have you tried resetting your CMOS? HP's site should have some instructions on it if you don't know how, it's easy enough. Usually just pop the watch battery out and change a jumper for 20 secs then put everything back.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Bios recovery

have not done anything with floppy hp site sais to try the battery so i did that first
__________________

alang78 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Toshiba 'BIOS password glitch' Cunjo Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-17-2008 02:14 AM
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.