Bios question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2006, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Default Bios question

My question has to be very general cause I'll be traveling across state to a friends house to help him with the problem and I don't have the paticulars to list now.

The problem is, the PC boots directly the bios and then stops. The PC had XPpro and 2000 (dual boot) and was running fine till one day he fired it up and now it goes to the Bios screen.

Sorry, I'll have more info once I get my hands on the PC but if anyone can give any reasons how/why a Pc would do this then I will have somewhere to start looking for the problem.

Again I'm not exspecting much help with the little to no info I'm providing but if anyone can give me some reasons for the PC to boot to the bios then I can take it from there, Thanks

leary is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 512
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch

is the enter bios key on the keyboard pushed down or stuck? =P

Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578


...Perhaps the specific key on the keyboard for entering the BIOS settings is jammed .

Anyways, the first thing I would do is clear the BIOS CMOS by removing the lithium battery on the motherboard for a minute or two, then placing it back in.

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17

Thanks to all. I realize I didn't give you much to go on. I also realize my question here may have been premature since I have seen the problem in person yet but I'm not sure once I'm there if I'll have convient access to the internet.

I will check the keyboard to see if a bad f-key is at fault but seems unlikely. Worse case I'm taking a wipe disk and a OS Cd and reload everything since there appears to be access to the boot sequence. If anyone else has any ideas I'd appreciate them. Thanks again!
leary is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.