Bios problem?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2009, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Bios problem??

I just installed a new Mb and windows 7 and I have 4gig of DDDR400 ram , 2 GIG GSkill and 2gig Corsair XMS. When I boot and see the post report it says DDR200 128bit, dual channel, Do I have something set up wrong in my CMOS? Is that what the system is seeing DDR200? My new MB is an MSI K8N-Neo4 F, Phoenix-Award Bios. It has a DRAM config and I have everything in auto. as it suggests.
Is this a problem with different memory brands or types or something? I know all four sticks are DDR400.
__________________

Runfox is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Bios problem??

DDDR?

Try taking 2 of the dual ram sticks out. One or 2 of the dual ram sticks may be dying on you.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: Bios problem??

OK CPU-Z lists all four sticks as DDR,Module size, 1024 MBytes, Max BW PC3200( 200Mhz).
So they are DDR400 running at 200mhz, is that right?
Runfox is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: Bios problem??

the memory will adjust itself to the slowest speed.

so if you have 2 running at 400 Mhz and 2 running at 200 Mhz, you'll be stuck on 200 Mhz by default.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: Bios problem??

So why would I have two running at 200 mhz? What should I check to correct it? I have two Gskill sticks that are brand new, and two Corsair that worked perfectly before MB swap. Could it be a wrong setting I have in my Bios? It has a whole page on DRAM to adjust settings basically for overclocking. With the Timing mode in Auto, the MEm lock index is 200mhz.
Runfox is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: Bios problem??

You aren't necessarily running at 200mhz. Some mobo's have multipliers which would show a 200mhz but would really be running at 400mhz due to it's slot config & multiplier.

You can adjust timing mode, but if you're not comfortable adjusting, just keep it at 'auto'.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 08:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: Bios problem??

Brady I guess your right, everything appears to be right, must be running at 400, I was just unsure when I saw DDR200, I guess it is the multiplier as this MB had many options for adjusting the DRAM and overclocking options.
Runfox is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: Bios problem??

I also notice during post right after the DDR200 dual channel, it lists a bunch of numbers, last one is (2T Timing) which II guess s has been said, means 2 times multiplier for the memory???
Runfox is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 11:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: Bios problem??

my multiplier doesn't show up on post, simply references is it in the motherboard manual.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Troubleshooting Procedure List Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 11-22-2013 04:58 PM
Problem in bios. hs101 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-30-2009 03:41 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Problem after BIOS flash MetalOwns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-21-2008 07:42 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.