bios problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2008, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default bios problem

Hello i have build my own system in december it has worked great but now i have been having troubles with it it gives me an error of a bad bios so my roommate thought it was b/c the bois was out of date and he updated the bios for me then just today i was about to play a Battle field 2 and my whole system crashed then when it was booting it up again it stopped then restarted the boot system again ( it has done this before but i don't remember how often it has done it) just so you know i have a Asus M2A-MVP motherboard amd 480x Chipset, AMD dual core 3ghz am2 socket, Ati Radeon hd2600 xt PCI-express, 2 gb dual channel ddr2, 260gb Maxtor Hard Drive, I had build this system to game on

Taren is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954
Default Re: bios problem

Go into the BIOS and change the setting that says Reboot on error. you want it to stop on error. That way it will display the BSOD and the error codes. We can use the error codes to find out what is going on with your computer by looking them up on Microsoft's site.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: bios problem

ok i have done that at least i think i have and there is no error shown not at the moment any way but i was able to overclock my ram now i can't touch it
Taren is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 10:24 AM
Problem after BIOS flash MetalOwns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-21-2008 06:42 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 02:15 PM
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 10:42 PM
Bios Problem a7hmado Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-30-2007 07:30 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.