BIOS not detecting HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2006, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default BIOS not detecting HDD

My BIOS isn't detecting my HDD. Any ideas? The cables look fine. Would it make a difference if I used the normal power plug on the drive? I'm using a SATA power adapter currently.

ASUS P5AD2-E Mobo
160GB Hitachi Deskstar
__________________

psychicpirate is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 08:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

if it's a SATA drive you have to use SATA power. was it working before and now it stopped working, or is this the first you've tried to use it?

a fried hdd controller on the motherboard could cause what you describe
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

It was working fine before.

Why would they put a normal power plug on the HDD if it's a SATA drive then? Just wondering...
psychicpirate is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you didnt play with bios settings before it happend? might wanna check the sata controller is enabled , as for the question i think its for ppl who dont have sata connectors in their psus so they will be able to connect it without getting an adapter. not all sata hds have both connectors , anyway its probably the hd or mobo but much more likely the hd read #4 at http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=96693
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

the same thing happened to me and it was my motherboard's fault, not the hard drive. If you can't determine for sure which one it is, find a way to test your hdd on a diff. mobo or use a different SATA hdd on your mobo.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.