Bios Help!!! Asap!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default Bios Help!!! Asap!!

My computer post, one beep and then it loads the windows xp screen and once it is just about to go to the windows login screen, it reboots itself. It never stops, just keeps doing it. What's going on?

Also on another comp, it loads, posts, one beep adn then says the BIOS update data incorrect. it's a sony PCV-RX650 adn then loads the windows screen and reboots itself. ANY IDEAS?
I need help!
__________________

travis22 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

in the first computer their could be a number of causes/solutions. the one i have seen the most is overheating. check that you have decent airflow in that computer including: all fans are working and free of dust, cables are tidy and not obstructing fans, if you are experienced enough clean the cpu heatsink and re-apply thermal paste. the problem could also be caused by a memory failure. download memtest86 and burn a cd image using it. boot from the cd and let it run for several hours to see if your memory is faulty.

in the second pc i am not sure of the cause but if you have previously tried to update the BIOS then that would be the cause. try resetting CMOS, there is a "stickied" thread at the top of this forum section explaining how to do so.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

thanks so much, i appreciate it! i will try that and let you know.
travis22 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

could resetting the bios ruin the hard drive at all? i understand it could ruin the motherboard, but what about the hd or other devices i may hav in there?
travis22 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default First Computer

It may have a voltage issue!! Try jumpin the bios to reset everything, could have improper settings..
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

how do i do that?
travis22 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 01:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

if you have a manual for the mobo, go to jumpers and it should have something on resetting the cmos, if not look on the web
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.