Bios gone how do I load a new one? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default Bios gone how do I load a new one?

Well a couple weeks ago I built a new comp and everything is working great. I took all the old pieces I had and made a server. Well my mobo grounded out somehow and now when I try to turn the comp on I get a Missing bios error.

Its a giga byte mob (about 6 months old, not sure of model since its not near me at the moment.) and I can find the version I need. I just have no idea how to upload a bios at all. Im guessing it has to be with a floppy drive which I have plenty of but I dont know if I need to type commands or anything. One part Ive never read up on.

So im going to continue searching the net for some help but any info that can be posted would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT:Motherboard , thats what I have now
__________________

Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Try flashing the BIOS. Here's a guide I found: http://freepctech.com/pc/001/006.shtml
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

If you fried your BIOS chip youll need to get a new one.You can just unplug the bad one and plug in the good one. But trying to flash first is a good idea.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 03:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NathanM
Try flashing the BIOS. Here's a guide I found: http://freepctech.com/pc/001/006.shtml
Excellent find. I will be doing this when I wake up tomorrow.

As for replacing the chip itself, im holding the mobo in my hands and can see the bios chip but it does not look like it is easily removable. It looks like the chip has a perferated type area right about the silver pins holding it in but I dont want to start picking at it with a sharp object of some sort lol. so yea Im gonna try the flash first. Hopefully it works
Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.