BIOS Doesn't Recognize New AND Old Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2007, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 53
Default BIOS Doesn't Recognize New AND Old Drives


Having a pretty serious problem w/ drive replacement & recognition. I’m selling my old Dell 8250 to a friend; & wanted to swap out ROM Drives beforehand. My new workstation (ADK Pro Audio) came w/ an LG DVD-ROM drive; & my old Dell had a Plextor Premium CD-RW drive…which I wanted installed in the new audio machine. In the process of taking the Plextor out of the Dell…the connector at the end of the ribbon cable split apart & ripped completely off the cable itself. I thought…no problem…head down to Micro Center for a new one in a few days. I installed the Plextor in the new machine successfully & went on about my business.

Today, I wanted to clean up old files off the Dell ‘cause my friend wants to buy it now on new Year’s Eve day. I set it back up & turn it on; & the BIOS reads non-recognition of Secondary Drive & CD-ROM Drive

[Background: My configuration on the Dell was 2 Hard Drives & a CD-ROM Drive…Primary Drive (OS) on the primary channel/ribbon cable…w/ the Secondary Drive (Audio Data) on the secondary channel/ribbon cable (middle connector)...& the CD-ROM Drive on the same channel/cable, at the end connector].

So I thought…fine…I forgot…the end of the ribbon cable is messed up; & even tho the secondary hard drive was still connected to the middle connector of that same damaged cable…I just figured the damaged end was the reason both drives weren’t being recognized.

So…off I go to Micro Center…come home w/ a new ribbon cable…install the LG DVD-ROM Drive…connect the new cable & appropriate power supply connector…

…fire up the Dell…

& the BIOS is reading exactly the same…it doesn’t recognize either drive.

Can someone please help me through this dilemma…I sure would appreciate it. I’m pretty sure I didn’t fry anything inside the tower. Everything looks normal; & everything is hooked up properly. The ribbon cable is an 80 wire…same thing that was in there originally. I’m a little iffy on the master/slave/cable select thing (as per my previous post). My primary & secondary drives have the jumpers in the exact same position…nothing’s changed there. The new LG is set to cable select, I think (3rd set to the left)…but that shouldn’t make any difference since that drive’s at the end of the cable, right?

Hope I didn't screw anything up...need some help, in a bad way.



mark4man is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
Peter.Cort's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: BIOS Doesn't Recognize New AND Old Drives

cable select is usually not something to put it on unless that was the factory settings. Try just putting on the OS HDD and loading that and if it works then put the second HDD in and if that works then try all 3 again, and if it fails then there's something wrong with your third connection.

A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 08:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 53
Default Re: BIOS Doesn't Recognize New AND Old Drives


...found it...(found it by reading the actually helps to read the documentation, yu see). As it turns out, the DVD-ROM Drive was set to 'Cable Select'...that was the 1st part of the problem [it was connected to the end connector (Master) of the secondary channel/cable]. I switched the jumper to 'Master'; & the BIOS then recognized both drives on that channel at reboot...that part's now fixed.

The other problem was (& I have no idea why)...there is no 2nd (Slave) Drive on the primary channel [only the Primary (OS) Drive]...but the BIOS setting for this drive was set to 'Auto Detect'. For some continued to try & locate a drive; & the error dialog continued to come up at bootup until I switched it to 'None'.

All fixed up now (but a little confused as to why auto detect triggered the BIOS error.)

Thanks very much,

mark4man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.