BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2013, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 505
Posts: 25
Default BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

Ok so I just built a new pc and I migrated my 4 hard drives and bought 1 new hard drive. In bios all the harddrives are detected but it will not automatically boot up it gives me a missing boot mgr error so I go into Bios and I ovveride boot to the specific harddrive i have formatted with windows 7 and it works all of my hard drives are detected except the new one I bought. Also I know 2 of my hard drives are in a raid set up I want to not have any hard drives in raid and I think this is why i'm getting that boot mgr error can somebody please help me.
__________________

Blazemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

You have to go to control panel, administrative tools, computer management, click on disc management, then click on the HDD that isn't showing up. Create new volume and should be good to go.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 505
Posts: 25
Default

Sweet man Thx for the input I'll try that when I get home from work if this fixes it Im gonna feel really stupid thanks pp your always a help I'll post the results once I get home from work
Blazemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 505
Posts: 25
Default Re: BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

Ok thank you pp that seemed to fix the problem hard drive is ready to go now, now I got one more question I wanna migrate everything from my old hard drives to the new one including the os which is windows 7 deep blue how would I go about doing this cause i want this hard driuve to be my boot drive
Blazemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

Using a cloning software such as CloneZilla or Acronis.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SCxnoxiousTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 156
Default Re: BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

go for Acronis
__________________
i5-3470// Deepcool Gammaxx 400//Asus P8B75-m//8GB (2x2GB Ripjaws X + 1x4GB Generic RAM card//Asus 24x DVD Writer//Gigabyte GTX 560 Windforce//2x500GB Seagate Barracuda at 7200 RPM//Raidmax Super Viper Black USB 3.0 + 3 Deep Xfan Blue LED Case Fans.
SCxnoxiousTechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 505
Posts: 25
Default Re: BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

Should I just try the free trail I only need to do this once
Blazemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 07:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SCxnoxiousTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 156
Default Re: BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

yah, there's no problem with it ,
__________________
i5-3470// Deepcool Gammaxx 400//Asus P8B75-m//8GB (2x2GB Ripjaws X + 1x4GB Generic RAM card//Asus 24x DVD Writer//Gigabyte GTX 560 Windforce//2x500GB Seagate Barracuda at 7200 RPM//Raidmax Super Viper Black USB 3.0 + 3 Deep Xfan Blue LED Case Fans.
SCxnoxiousTechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 09:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: BIOS detects hard drive but not in My computer

I actually switched to Clonezilla myself due to how Acronis has changed lately. Either one is fine though. Just make sure to make an image first for backup purposes then swap over.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 03:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: 505
Posts: 25
Default

You guys are great thanks where should I save the image??
__________________

Blazemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.