BIOS beeps...NEED HELP SOLVING - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 06:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

This sounds like a dumb question, but don't be offeded....did you put the Molex power supply connector in the 6800gt????
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
This sounds like a dumb question, but don't be offeded....did you put the Molex power supply connector in the 6800gt????
OMG!! If thats what happened I should shoot myself for not asking.

I assume people plug things in.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

LOL! If you assume you make an *** (out of) u (and) me. The reason I asked is I just did the same stupid thing and, always wanting to over complicate my life, never thought to check the power issue!! Sheesh!!!! :/
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default

you know thought it was that plug because when my card was shipped, it didnt come with that cable, but one of the utilities that came with the card just said it lowered quality to make up for the lack of power so i forgot about it. So idk...im kind of not sure if thats EXACTLY it because it worked without it before, but i think it may be the problem.

BTW...is it possible to buy the cable from local retailers?
f50fan is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
This sounds like a dumb question, but don't be offeded....did you put the Molex power supply connector in the 6800gt????
oh and by the way its a 6800GS but still has that connector...the one with 6 boxs right?
f50fan is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default

blah and i think i know why i dont have that connector...when i opened the shipping box, the graphics card box was open and everything had come out...so im assuming the cable fell out during some process of the packing.
f50fan is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Yes!!!!!!!! You need to use the 6 pin power connector!!!!!!! Do not operate that card without the power connector. Why it powered up????????? Hopefully, the GPU was not damaged because it probably overheated somewhat.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default

ok ive read the reviews from newegg (where i bought it) and PLENTY of people have been complaining that their cards have been coming without that cable!!!...well i hope this is the problem (haha weird)...
f50fan is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Default

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...SSINGCABLE.jpg That one right?
f50fan is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

should have one on your power supply.

Lol @ Aspire.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.