Big Problem! Thinkpad Harddrives not! lol - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2006, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41
Unhappy Big Problem! Thinkpad Harddrives not! lol

Hey...i have 3 a22m laptops...2 with 20gb and 1 with 12gb drives...

the computer with the 12gb also had double as much ram as one of the ones with 20's, so i decided to swap hd' i could charge a premium for the better of the 2 when reselling.

once the harddrives were secure in the other machines, the computers were no longer able to see them...

i tried reseting the bios, tried different combinations between laptops and hd's...(made sure i static discharged)...but then realized i had left the battery in when i did the swap, so im concerned about the possiblity of surging them... that doesn't really make sense though, because when i tried using the 3rd and "working" harddrive in another system i had the same problem...then when i put it back in the "working" laptop, it was no longer working. this time the battery was out and it was unplugged, and i was soooo was like i was handling a bomb.

i tried using windows install and dos based utilities to find the drive, but nothing seems to be doing the trick...

i'm an experienced repairman, but feel free to make any suggestions regardless of how simple they might be...let's just assume im a total newb.

i figure since they came from a government office there might be some ibm corperate data protection or something crazy like that at me though.

Mündo is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Hmmm, strange indeed, and technically it shoulda been no problem since it's all the same kind of laptop.

Have you gone into the BIOS itself to see if the HD is seen in there? You might have to manually set it in the BIOS to recognize the HD. I remember for whatever reason my grandmas computer all of a sudden stopped seeing the hard drive and I had to go into the BIOS and actually change one of the options for the IDE devices for it to come up. Don't know how it got changed off that in the first place, but your problem sounds similar and it's all I can think to tell you at this point.

Nubius is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41

I've looked a few times and cant seem to find anything that even alludes to there being a harddrive, except for the boot order and network boot order.

also...i tried disabling network boot on the slim chance that network boot was interfering with the computer's ability to see the hd...

no luck...

this bios is really awful
Mündo is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 12:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41


I put one of the hd's out of the a22's into my r40, and i got bluescreen right after post....somehow all 3 of the hd's are euchre'd...

im afraid if i try the hd from the r40 in one of the a22's the same thing might happen to it.

Another Update:

i put the 12GB drive into the r40 and reformatted it...and successfully installed winxp...

so its a problem with the a22m's seeing the drives...not actually dead hd's...what a i just have to figure out wtf is going
Mündo is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41

lenovo wants $50 per call for out of warranty notebooks...ouch lol
Mündo is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

thinkpads lock their hdd's to the individual laptop
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you dont think the guitar is cool, then youre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 08:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41

then why can i use the 12gb drive from one of the a22's in the r40?

can you help me with a solution? im really freaking of them has already been sold and is getting picked up saturday...i have to have to up and running again before then.

Mündo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.