Big Problem, need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2006, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Lasrix's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Unhappy Big Problem, need help!

I have built a new computer for myself and am having some crashing problems. First off let me start out by stateing the specs of my new machine:

DFI Lanparty SLI-D
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
XFX GeForce 7800GT
1Gb OCZ 2.5-3-3-5
200GB WD Sata HD
485W Enermax

So there is pretty much 2 different types of crashes that occur from time to time.

Starting with the first one. I can make this crash happen anytime i want to. All i have to do is place my XFX Video Card CD in the CD Rom drive and once it speeds up, it crashes. The error it gives me is:

(I turned off the external Cache as suggested and it still crashes)

Before i tell you what i have done to try and solve this i'll just quickly tell you about the second crash. The second crash seems to occur randomly but it APPEARS not to happen until after 24 Hours or more have passed. The error, or blue screen of death, appears so fast that i don't get a chance to read it. So i can't tell you what the error is.

My first theory was that the power supply was lacking and everytime the CD-ROM would boot up it would crash, due to LEDS, Periferals etc. so i unplugged everything except the essentials. CD-ROM, MOBO Power, Vid Card Power, HD power. Entered the XFX CD, Crashed. But then i thought, it may be the Drive so i popped in a spare i had and it did the same. Then i realized that it only did it for this XFX driver CD and once for another CD. Other than that the drive reads and writes fine...

Second theory was the RAM was Faulty and wassn't dumping properly (causing the second crash to occur). So i ran a mem test and a 3DMark test and it all came out fine. I then replaced my OCZ RAM with some Kingston RAM that i know is fine. I then proceeded to put the XFX Driver CD in the drive (since this is the only test i can run to see if its the RAM causing this crash atm), crashed. I would keep the Kingston RAM in to see if it get effected after 24 hours but my thoughts of the RAM being the problem have sorta died at this point.

So the conclude my thoughts on the matter, from what i've seen, Can't be the power supply, doesn't appear to be the RAM and the CD-ROM checks out.

All help would be appreciated, this is driveing my absolutly insane...


P.S. My Temps seem to be running cooly

<img src=\"\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 07:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

Looks like a hardware problem, I would not rule out the PSU do you have the capacity to swap it out for another?

Otherwise it might be some chip on the mobo is faulty or perhaps the CPU.
Run something like prime 95 and see if you get any errors.

I take you're not overclocking?

Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Lasrix's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363

The PSU is most likely the first thing i'm gonna replace. I'm gonna pick up a 600W and toss it in there.

I'm not overclocking anything... yet

Now that you mention it, the Southbridge... Northbridge, Whichever one it is located next to my Video card, is getting extremely hot. Not sure if the actual chip is getting hot but the metal on the fan thats cooling it is. It is also being touched by my Video card, that may be transfereing heat to it as well.

<img src=\"\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Lasrix's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363

I've been running this Prime 95 test for 2 days now and i'm still unsure what its testing and how, can anyone explain?

Also, i was looking over my computer specs and noticed that under CPU it says "AMD Hammer Family processor - Model Unknown" , that seems kinda odd to me. Has anyone else noticed this under their CPU name?

<img src=\"\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.