Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2008, 02:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
myowngod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste

So I went to lap my Q6600 - And quickly found out I used too much thermal paste during my first install... problem is - somehow a couple strands of thermal paste managed to find their way to the bottom of the chip... the side with the important stuff... now the paste is mx2 non conducive... but it worries me non-the-less... anything I can/should do.. or should i hope for the best?
__________________

myowngod is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste

wow, so thermal paste melted or something? how much did you put in there? and how do you know it got inside?

Wow, your in big trouble, fear of lossing the mobo and cpu. I don't think there is anything you can do.
(id say clean it, but you can't lol, maybe try air spray? no clue what to do there.)
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,667
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste

Just use a soft cloth, be careful, and wipe off the bottom of the processor. also (if it's a big problem) wipe off the top of the pins in the cpu socket.
Main thing we want here is to make sure all the pins still make contact with the cpu.
Otherwise it isn't really a big problem, just remember to put a bit less next time you do it
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 09:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste

wow, thats the most fragile part of everything,

I'd just let it be unless it caues a problem.
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste

^no, that's the last thing you want to do, clean it off and re apply it, for a quad your gonna want to be using the cross method, start a 1/4 inch from each corner, and it is a very thin line overlapping in the center.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 02:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
myowngod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Re: Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste

It didnt get in the mobo - just on the bottom of the processor chip - it ran over enough such that when i lifted a little thread/string of paste came away and flipped to the underside - I'm gonna try to gently wipe it off...
myowngod is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 04:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Big problem... CPU + Thermal Paste

ohh then it should not be a problem, try to get an anti static cloth though
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Thermal Paste! Potential Harm? pokernod Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 12 05-29-2008 06:16 AM
Thermal Paste Nazgul New Systems | Building and Buying 12 12-29-2007 01:54 PM
Is this pre-applied thermal paste? Brinson System Upgrades 4 12-28-2007 11:54 PM
Applying thermal paste Brinson System Upgrades 5 12-24-2007 04:33 PM
OMG, I need your help... thermal paste/Stock COOLER problem... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-22-2007 03:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.