Big problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2009, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Exclamation Big problem

This morning i woke up and went over to my computer, which was left on overnight, like always. I turned on my monitor and it said "monitor going to sleep" but my computer was still running. I did a hard shut down and turned it back on only to find my monitor was still asleep. Being as i'm not really technically savvy, i unplugged everything and then back in. Pressed power and the fan ran for less than a second, then shut back off. Pressed it again and the power light stayed on, but no fan. After a few more on offs, now there is no power whatsoever. What do i need to do to fix this?
__________________

Jimmyt05 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Big problem

At first I was going to say possible video card or cable dead (since the monitor was working and said it was going to sleep), but now sounds like a power supply.

Replace the power supply and see if that fixes the issue. Could have been dieing and didn't have enough juice to power the video card.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Big problem

Thanks for your reply. Any suggestions on where i can get a decent, low priced power supply?i know nothing about them. Are they easy to replace? If it's not the power supply, am i pretty much screwed? Any help would be great.
Jimmyt05 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Big problem

what model of computer is it? Or what are the specs of the computer in question?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Big problem

If it isn't the power supply, you're only screwed out of the money you spend on the new power supply. Then we'll go into other areas if it isn't the power supply.

IF you have a multimeter you can test the power leads from the power supply you have now to see if they aren't giving out the correct wattage.

I would purchase one online if you can do without the computer for about 4 days. If you are in the united states go to Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more! for that purchase. If you need it sooner go to a local computer shop (NOT BEST BUY), like a mom and pop place and purhase a used power supply. This way you only spend like 20 dollars to see if the power is the issue. If you go to best buy you'll end up spending about 90 dollars for something you can get for 40 dollars online.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Big problem

Its an hp pavilion a6050e AMD athlon 64 live dual core. Not sure the speed. 2 GB ram. I installed an evga video card, but don't remember which one. I believe it was numbered over 2000, if that makes any sense. I hope this is enough info.
Jimmyt05 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Big problem

Here is a good guide on testing your psu with a multimeter.
Driverheaven Guides: testing your psu with a multimeter

Be careful if you have a dell or other prebuilt. Sometimes they use special sized power supplies and you cannot put a standard one in and have it fit. Give us a model and we can look for compatibility if needed.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Big problem

This website says that is an ATX power supply. HP 300W POWER SUPPLY <br> 5188-2625 (DPS-300AB-19 A)(out of stock)

In that case you just need to look through newegg for a power supply that is 350 to 400 watts and ATX.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Big problem

Yep saw the same one but it is atx12v.

Features

* Hewlett-Packard Technology with Delta Electronics manufacturer
* Internal 80mm fan
* ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V
* Connect All universal connectors
* Overvoltage / Overcurrent / Short-Circuit protection
* Active PFC
Here is the list at newegg that has compatible power supplies.
Newegg.com - Computer Hardware,Power Supplies,Power Supplies,ATX12V,400W below,

Grab anything 350 to 400 as Lexluther recommended.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Big problem

Ok, i found an atx 12v v2.2 for $40 but it was only 300W and i found an eps 12v for $60 but it was 550w. I couldn't find one 350-400.
__________________

Jimmyt05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
had to format my computer and i have a big problem! nastsystems Microsoft Windows and Software 14 10-15-2008 01:06 PM
Big PROBLEM!!! vanquish Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 09-25-2008 09:21 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.