Belkin router not detected. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2006, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to tommy8748
Default Belkin router not detected.

Hey, I have a Belking wireless G router (2.4ghz) and I stumbled upon a problem. When I popped in the disk and it got to the installation process where it identified the router then it couldn't. Does anybody have any suggestions? I tried disabling the windows firewall, is there another one?

PS this is off the main computer.

Asrock 939 Dual-SATA2
AMD 3700+ @ 2.8GHz
1GB Corasair PC3200
340GB HD
Antec Super Lanboy case
tommy8748 is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes

are you able to get to your default gateway 192.168.*.*


AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to gailraye

Although this may seem like redicule but try uninstalling the sw and then just connect the whole hw sha-bang and then try using it with out any sw. Check your utilities. If you have windows and another(such as intel or wlan) they can conflict, so disable one of them. Also check for any anti-vi firewalls. And oh yeah check for interference like 2.4 cordless phones.
gailraye is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578

...Has Windows identified your belkin router in the device manager, and installed a driver for it?

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to gailraye

the router shouldn't be recognized in windows device manager: especially if its wireless...only the adapter used for the wireless detection :question:
gailraye is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756

does your wireless card find the router anyway? I know my belkin installation didn't complete but it works just fine. As long as your wireless adaptor is installed and some of the installation is done it should work fine. Also when installing my router it needed to be connected to my pc with an Ethernet cable for some parts.

baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.