beep code question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2008, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Default beep code question?

Okay, so i've had some major issues with my pc. First my computer fails to boot. So there are not beeps whatsoever. Swapped psu, so i know it wasn't that. So it's either the motherboard or the cpu. So I guess cpu. Turns out no. Does the same thing. So I just now installed my new motherboard, and well, it doesn't boot. But this time, i do get a beep. and an annoying one at that. It's a very loud beep that lasts about 20 or 30 seconds, stops and repeats. Not sure how many times it will, cause after 3 i shut it off. So can some one tell me what could be wrong. I have an asus p5n-d with a q6600. Thanks in advance. Gavin.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li
Asus P5N-D
q6600 2.24Ghz @ stock
2x 8800gts 320gb stock no sli
G.Skill 8Gb
Corsairs 520w
SyncMaster 22in. 2ms
Hanns•G 24.7in 5ms
Samsung 32in HDTV
150gb 10,000rpm OS disk
400gb/640gb storage disks
Windows XP Professional x64
LinuxMint Latest
g2k556 is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: beep code question?

Never heard a beep *beep* for that long, then repeat. However, I'd check your ram.
Long, repeated beeps usually mean bad RAM or video card. Out of those the more likely is the RAM.

Try booting with only one stick in, see if you get the same error. If you still get beeps, swap the one stick in the pc with a different stick and try again.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Default Re: beep code question?

okay, so i take out both sticks of ram, and when i power up, i get one long beep and 2 short.
__________________
Lian Li
Asus P5N-D
q6600 2.24Ghz @ stock
2x 8800gts 320gb stock no sli
G.Skill 8Gb
Corsairs 520w
SyncMaster 22in. 2ms
Hanns•G 24.7in 5ms
Samsung 32in HDTV
150gb 10,000rpm OS disk
400gb/640gb storage disks
Windows XP Professional x64
LinuxMint Latest
g2k556 is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: beep code question?

Quote:
okay, so i take out both sticks of ram, and when i power up, i get one long beep and 2 short.
In other words you took out ALL your ram? Not quite what I meant for you to do
only take out ONE stick, always make sure you have at least one stick in, otherwise you'll get an error.

What I'm trying to do is test each stick individually, to see if either stick is faulty and causing your computer the problem.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: beep code question?

Yes that's where I'd start. It looks like your on the right track since it does recognize that there's no ram installed before going on to any other beep code, ruling out a few major problems. Like Soul said, test each stick individually to see the results. You might just have a bad one.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 06:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: beep code question?

I'v known three long beeps to be keyboard related (on IBM borads) before.
Try making sure the keyboard is functional and the ps/2 port is not faulty.

Cheers,

Tkey
Yek is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 12:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Default Re: beep code question?

i actually did do that before, and i got the same results as with both of them in, it beeps really long. i don't think it's quite 20 seconds, but with the annoyingness of it, it seemed like it. and if found my board is a phoenix/award bios. thanks for the help so far, it really is appreciated.
__________________
Lian Li
Asus P5N-D
q6600 2.24Ghz @ stock
2x 8800gts 320gb stock no sli
G.Skill 8Gb
Corsairs 520w
SyncMaster 22in. 2ms
Hanns•G 24.7in 5ms
Samsung 32in HDTV
150gb 10,000rpm OS disk
400gb/640gb storage disks
Windows XP Professional x64
LinuxMint Latest
g2k556 is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 12:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: beep code question?

BiosCentral - Award BIOS Beep Codes

That might help.

Cheers,

~ Tkey
Yek is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 12:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Default Re: beep code question?

okay, so one continuous loop beep is memory error. That happens when the memory is in. When there is no memory in, it has one long beep followed by two short, which means bad video card. so at least i know for sure its one of those, eventhough i new this before since it's the last two components to replace :/ i just took out and reseated the video card, same story.
__________________
Lian Li
Asus P5N-D
q6600 2.24Ghz @ stock
2x 8800gts 320gb stock no sli
G.Skill 8Gb
Corsairs 520w
SyncMaster 22in. 2ms
Hanns•G 24.7in 5ms
Samsung 32in HDTV
150gb 10,000rpm OS disk
400gb/640gb storage disks
Windows XP Professional x64
LinuxMint Latest
g2k556 is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 01:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: beep code question?

Okay well it's one of two things, then. I've had something similar to this happen to me before. I think Either your ram is incompatible with the motherboard (which ended up being the case with me) or the mobo is bad. What you want to do is run out to CCity, Best Buy, whatever and buy a gig of the cheapest ddr2 value ram (667 stuff, not even 800) you can, and install it. No reason it shouldn't work on a good mobo. If it boots up okay, try each slot and run Memtest and then you'll know if your Gskill ram is faulty/incompatible. You can return the ram to the store pretty easily, just say it didn't work or something if you have no need for it.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
PHP: How to modify a downloaded JavaScript code and partly change the code within it? LincolnX Programming 4 01-25-2008 04:25 PM
2 problems 1 computer Vonshudo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-10-2008 05:28 PM
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.