been trying to install sata drive for 3 days. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Exclamation been trying to install sata drive for 3 days.

i got a new sata drive to replace my old crappy HD, so i plug it in with the cables, and go to install windows on it. I have downloaded the lastest drivers from A-bit(nf7-s mobo) for the floppy disk. So when windows install comes up i install the drivers off the floppy.. i wait and then it comes back up and asks where i want to install windows, but it doesnt show my Sata HD..


1. do i need a jumper on the sata drive?

The only time i see my computer recognizes the drive is when booting up it asks me if i want to go into a raid utility for samsung 160gb.. which is the SATA drive, although there is nothing i can do in this menu. I'm not setting up raid, just 1 hd.


can anyone help out?
__________________

scurvy is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

check your bios settings. should be able to tell it that you are running a satas. does your bios recognize the sata drive?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default

the bios only shows me what ide drives i have, it doesnt show the sata drive..

the only places on my bios at all about sata are

sata controller: enabled
sata raid rom : enabled


also i've tried all 4 jumper spots on the sata, none worked
scurvy is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

disable raid
Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.