Barebone Test - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2007, 12:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Barebone Test

Could someone tell me what the steps are for a barebone test? I searched google and only found barebone computers.
__________________

Mike9182 is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Barebone Test

whats a barebone test?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Barebone Test

where you take out all of the parts except for the essentials to diagnose a problem.
Mike9182 is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 03:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Barebone Test

To start a Barebones test, have only the motherboard, vga, psu, ram (1 stick) and proc set up and see what happens upon boot. then add and subtract parts from there after analyzing the results until you've found the culprit. There can be a lot of trial and error involved. I believe it's usually recommended to remove the motherboard from the computer case to prevent a short while doing this. Asus' site has an okay pictorial guide:

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

Click on "Motherbaord" and "Trouble shooting PC"
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Barebone Test

Ok, thanks
Mike9182 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World in Conflict Beta test spartan1121 PC Gaming 1 06-07-2007 04:03 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
This barebone..any input? immy3 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-18-2007 06:33 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.