Baffled. Installed G card, now nothing boots - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2006, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Baffled. Installed G card, now nothing boots

hi.
I'm really baffled, and annoyed here.

After eagerly awaiting delivery of a refurbished tower, grahpics card and Battlefield 2, they arrive.

All is well, windows xp boots up fine, seems nice and quick. I follow all instructions and succesfully install agp graphics card.

Now i install BF2 and it freezes during registration (a connetion issue) so i hit ctrl+alt+del to restart.

Now the fun begins...instead of restarting, nothing happens except the fan start whizzing, no beeps (not sure if it has inbuilt speaker) no other noises...can't even open the cd / dvd drives.

I've restarted many times, removed G card, put it back, removed battery in an attempt to get back to the state i was in previously.

As it booted before installation of g card i know the HD and OS are ok, and assume its some kind of hardware issue.

Ive tried all the different combinations i can think of (inc using a skeleton system) and still no luck, apart from the fan its totally dead.

I dont see what i could have done to kill it, as everything was working before i restarted. ><

Any help or ideas greatly appreciated
thnx
__________________

BeastAmongMen is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=88668
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

thanks for the link.
i followed the steps listed there, but it didnt do anything (cant find any 3 pin jumpers, but ive done step 1 a number of times now, battery has been out for up to 20 mins approx).

..when i say the fan is working i mean on the mobo, not the power supply (if that makes any difference).

**** i hate being a techno noob :P

also would it help to continue to try and fix it with or without the g card in...
its last working state was with it in, but now if cmos is reset will it still see it?

thnx again, help or ideas badly needed :/
BeastAmongMen is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 03:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

1. If the fan in the PSU is not working, I would replace it.

2. Check to see if your video card needs a molex connector plugged into it for power. What kind of card is it?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
1. If the fan in the PSU is not working, I would replace it.

2. Check to see if your video card needs a molex connector plugged into it for power. What kind of card is it?
For #1: Some PSU's dont use their fan unless they have to, to stay quiet until it gets hot, so theres a possability it isn't bad.

Definately make sure that all of the connections for power are plugged into the motherboard like he said.

Post your system specs, including the Amperage rating on your +12v rail (located on the sticker of the PSU).

Before anything else though, unplug the sucker from the wall for a couple minutes, plug it back in and try again... I don't know why, but it has actually helped before...
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

PSU fan not spinning after adding a power hog video card and running BF2 install...........hmmmmmmmmmmmm.......Shawn wins Bingo! That dang PSU...the culprit in so many problems and the last thing anyone looks at. Example: Last night I added a 250 gig Sata and now have two of the same Sata drives installed. RAID 0.....all is well.......install the OS and all software...alll is well..........try to burn a VCD on Nero 6.....system powers off and reboots...no BSOD......left till the morning. HIt the power switch...on and off! 3 times...then the PSU boots the system. Now I could spend a lot of time doing hardware exploration gymnastics........no! Ordered a new Antec PSU 550 watt to replace my POS Codegen 450 wt. It's the PSU!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.