bad_system_config_info please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2011, 11:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Unhappy bad_system_config_info please help

Hey guys..got a problem here. Restarted my computer after dling and installing the new version of my anti virus (vipre) and now im getting this bsod. The anti virus was off before I restarted, so something might of crept in, can't be sure. Anyway, is there a way to fix this? I tried booting to last known good config and it didn't work, safe mode gives me the bsod as well.
Thanks for your time.
__________________

RUItalianMan is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Sadly there isnt much that can be done. I highly doubt that an infection got in between the time you downloaded the updated version of Vipre and the time you restarted. Plus an infection doesnt want you to have these issues. They cant get information from you then.
I would wager to guess that it was a bad update from Vipre and sijce you cant use a restore point or Safe Mode there isnt to many options left. Mainly only a reinstall. I would contact Vipre and see if they have had lots of reports about this and have a fix.
__________________

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

What is the stop code of the BSOD?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

Thanks for your responses...sigh KSoD, that's exactly what I didn't want to hear haha.
The code is 0x00000074.
Is there anything that can be done through command prompt? Like restoring my boot file or something?
RUItalianMan is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

That's a memory problem. Get Memtest86+ and run it for at least 2 passes. Any errors, one of the sticks are bad. You'd want to try each memory sticks separately.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

Alright, running it right now, will update when it's done thanks.
RUItalianMan is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

Well, it's about 50% done and apparently it's found 200k errors (and counting) on cpu1..lol..so..guess i need to replace it. Can I use my laptop with only one stick? How do I even take it out to replace it, where is it lol. I have an Asus n80v core 2 duo.
RUItalianMan is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

Yeah, you can use it with one stick. There is normally a compartment on the bottom that covers the two memory slots. Held on by one or 2 small screws.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

Thanks for all your help, just one more question. How does something like this happen? My lappy showed no signs of anything wrong until I restarted the computer, and I was only restarting it to finish the antivirus installation, not because there was lag or anything wasn't working.
RUItalianMan is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: bad_system_config_info please help

These things happen pretty much randomly. Could be that they were always bad, but vipre tipped the bowl.

So, RMA that RAM if you can. Otherwise, just get some new RAM.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad_system_config_info TermyBGL Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-29-2006 04:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.