Bad_system_config_info - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2006, 02:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Default Bad_system_config_info

Hello all,

On my other PC I am having problems booting up 1st time. It sometimes just sits on the DFI logo screen for ever, and after a few reboots/ shut downs it gets to a blue screen (for 2 days in a row now) with the following message :


Windows has shut your PC down to prevent damage blah blah..

Try removing/ disabling any new hardware/software or disable bios memory options such as Caching or shadowing.

Well after another reboot from that screen I get the option to start safe mode, start normally, last settings that worked... so I choose "last settings that worked" and boots up fine.

Had this 2 days in a row now and am wanting to get this fixed once I know the problem.

I DO have it overclocked but has been OK so far, although 1 error on prime 95 that I have not been able to fix... might be that?

It has only recently started happening since I enabled memory divider it seems to 180 9/10 memory @198 Mhz CPU 2580Mhz. HTT 215, LDT x4 Multiplier X12. Before divided was 1:1 and worked fine except the error in prime 95.

What should I try and do next? How can I find out for sure whats wrong here.

And following from a previous post of mine about CPU voltage/ dividers ... now that I have seen that a divider doesnt remove error from prime 95, shall I try increasing voltage?

Thanks for any input

TermyBGL is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 02:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093

have you tried booting at stock settings?

ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 05:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

yeah reset your bios and run with stock settings to eliminate the overclock as the cause
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 03:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52

Ok, Update:

I have disabled the memory divider from 9/10- 180 which had the RAM running at 198 (200 stock) CPU still at 2581Mhz and it boots up fine.

Did I do something wrong with the dividers? Go the wrong way or something, or maybe becasue it is 2 Mhz slower then stock?
TermyBGL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.