Bad Sectors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2011, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 92
Default Bad Sectors

I recently booted my laptop into Fedora and right when I get to the desktop I get a message saying that my HDD has many bad sectors and that its failing. However, I have not had any problems with the HDD in the past while running windows.

At first I thought it was just a problem with a program in Fedora, so I booted the same Fedora on my other laptop and I did not get the message.

Any ideas? Could my HDD actually be failing?
__________________

WhiteFlare is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Bad Sectors

In the command prompt type in the below:

chkdsk /r

It will ask you whether you want to schedule the check for the next time your computer restarts, press Y (for yes) then restart your computer.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 92
Default Re: Bad Sectors

WhiteFlare is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Bad Sectors

chkdsk /r already implies /f, did you run that first?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 92
Default Re: Bad Sectors

Do I need to add a volume like "chkdsk C: /r" ? Because nothing happens when I restart.
WhiteFlare is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Bad Sectors

You can specify a drive letter to check, yes. Default is the C: drive though, and if that's the suspect drive then you don't need to include the C: in the chkdsk command.
After you type in chkdsk /r into the command prompt in windows, what happens? Do you get any messages?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 12:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 92
Default Re: Bad Sectors

It says that chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. And if I would like to run chkdsk next time the system restarts. I type "Y" and then restart my computer. It boots to the desktop and nothing happens.
WhiteFlare is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 02:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 92
Default Re: Bad Sectors

Hey, guess what else I found? The computer that is suspected to have bad sectors is the one I got from school (which is band new when we get them). A friend from school who also has the same laptop bought a SSD to replace his old Hard drive and found that the screw with the spring on it was not even screwed in. So I opened mine up and sure enough....the screw wasnt even screwed it keeping the HDD from bouncing around.
WhiteFlare is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 06:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Bad Sectors

Ouch, yeah that's definitely not good

What you can try is boot off the XP disc, press 'R' to go into the repair console, then run the chkdsk command from there.
OR, if you don't have the disk, try booting into Safe Mode (by pressing F8 during startup) and running chkdsk from there.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to know if HD has bad sectors? Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 02-22-2009 02:22 PM
Bad sectors? CalcProgrammer1 Laptops and Notebooks 9 09-07-2008 07:50 AM
what does it mean if a HDD has bad sectors? Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-05-2008 12:38 PM
bad sectors geordief Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-10-2006 05:37 PM
bad sectors geordief Microsoft Windows and Software 9 10-09-2006 03:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.