Bad Ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 44
Default Bad Ram?

Could i be receiving jumpy parts in my games as a result of bad RAM?
i have 2GB of samsung pc2700 ram how can i test this.?
__________________

justinone is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

http://www.memtest86.com/

You will need to make a boot floppy or CD, but theres a guide on there I think.
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

it COULD be, but it isn't just a fine line on what the problem actually is....

What are your system specs?
what kind of temps do you run at?
What games are having the issues?
&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp Is the trouble in single player modes/games also?
&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp If the trouble is with multiplayer games, give us some info about your network topology and what is running on the network.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

^ yea, but he might as well test the mem. not gonna cost anyone anything adn we can take it out of the equation immediatly if its not that........
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 44
Default

OK well i have explained this before in other threads.

ATI Radeon 9600XT 256mb
P4 3.0GHz HT
2GB RAM
Windows XP
VIA P4VM800 MOBO

i experience jittering in games SP and MP its not serious, its just a very annoying problem and i think it is bringing my Graphics card down with it. i got a 2 Meg internet connection. my CPU runs at around 50 degrees c my GPU has no temp monitor. call of duty UO is one of the games that jitters around alot. i cant play it the jittering is so annoying.
justinone is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.