Bad processor or MB? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 05:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

Try another MOBO !!! then CPU !!!
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 09:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

check your memory. hangups on OS installation is usually caused by bad memory.

shutdown a system when it is doing OS installation won't hurt your HDD, done that more than 100 times and my HDD still alright.
Anyway, what else you can do if it hangs during the installation?
__________________

hkfnstang is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hkfnstang
check your memory. hangups on OS installation is usually caused by bad memory.

shutdown a system when it is doing OS installation won't hurt your HDD, done that more than 100 times and my HDD still alright.
Anyway, what else you can do if it hangs during the installation?
He already changed out with known working memory.
__________________
evelmunkey is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Well it went through an entire install without locking up. I never even considered it but Evelmunky seems to have been right. I disabled the cd drive I was using and used the other one I had and it didn't lock up. I'm going to partition the HD and install XP 64 and maybe the new Vista build to try it out. If it takes both installs and doesn't lock I feel fairly conifdent that that was the problem the whole time.

I never would have thought about the CD drive but looking back it does make sense. Everything in the computer had been replaced with known working parts except the MB, CPU and CD drives. Can't say for sure that's the problem yet, could have just been lucky. I had almost made it through installs before so I really want to test it and see if that was the problem.

Hmmm one question though. If my drive was bad would that really cause severe sluggishness of the OS with regular use? In other words, just being connected but not being used, could it cause the entire OS to slow to a crawl? That may have been a seperate issue I didn't know about but solved while changing other parts (memory for example or adding new thermal compound).

I'll let you know if it takes the other installs without any problems and thank you everyone for your help. It helped me know what other things to look at if problmes arise.
prophet621 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey
Default

Seems weird that it would cause the system to crawl. Too hard to tell because, like you said, you changed so much. It could have been something messed up on the software side as well. Good Luck.
__________________
evelmunkey is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd2800
Try another MOBO !!! then CPU !!!
I already said that >.>
But that doesnt matter anymore, never know it could be the cd drive. Well you should buy a new cd drive then. Good luck once again
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.