Bad Power Supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2012, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Bad Power Supply?

My system is running a sub-par raidmax PSU that I got in a combo deal with my case, I planned on upgrading eventually, but it may be time to NOW. I've been experiencing random freezing of windows, even when not under any load, thats what I mean by completely random. Also, sometimes when I shut down, it will not even load to the bios screen at all until I kill the power switch on the PSU, let it sit, then flip it back on and attempt to boot the machine again. I've even underclocked everything in the system to stock settings to lower power draw but I am still experiencing the same issues.

Does this sound like a power supply issue?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Bad Power Supply?

Sure does. You'll be lucky if it didn't damage any components.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Bad Power Supply?

Hmmm not good. What could it have possibly damaged?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Bad Power Supply?

It could damage anything from CPU and motherboard to GPU and HDDs. Bad power or huge ripple can cause damage to any electronic device. I would start by replacing the PSU ASAP then go from there.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bad power supply IT_N8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-05-2011 10:47 AM
bad power supply? Squirtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-23-2010 11:59 PM
Power supply gone bad? 35g700 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-08-2009 03:58 PM
My Power supply bad? andrewsvalesen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 07-02-2007 05:55 PM
Bad Power Supply? Ares6735 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-12-2006 07:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.