Bad motherboard? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2013, 01:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Bad motherboard?

Have you tried burning windows 7 to an actual disc and installing it?
__________________

xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Bad motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xerolen View Post
Have you tried burning windows 7 to an actual disc and installing it?
No. My computer does not have an optical drive and I don't have any SATA drives that I could install.

I've installed Windows to this computer from a USB drive before, and I've also used the same USB drive to install to other machines. I don't think that's the issue.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Bad motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
I have two identical 2x4GB sets of Corsair Vengeance RAM. I've tried it in every way possible.




I installed Ubuntu to the same hard drive that I tried to install Windows too.

For now I've got Windows running in Virtualbox.

I think my large heatsink may have caused my motherboard to bend, thus causing things to go wrong. For now I guess I'll just use Ubuntu and run Windows in a virtual machine. I'll probably buy a new motherboard next payday.
I think it has nothing to do with that, from what I'm gathering it sounds like you got a bad iso image your using.
Are you copying from an original official windows 7 pro disc or a downloaded one ?
I would try the official disk first and use samsung cruzer flash drive or better to install.
Stops most installation issues in the long run, not unless such said computer wont boot off the removal media disk.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Bad motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMike View Post
I think it has nothing to do with that, from what I'm gathering it sounds like you got a bad iso image your using.
Are you copying from an original official windows 7 pro disc or a downloaded one ?
I would try the official disk first and use samsung cruzer flash drive or better to install.
Stops most installation issues in the long run, not unless such said computer wont boot off the removal media disk.
It's a downloaded .iso that I got from MSDNAA for being a student. I'll use another drive and try again.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.