Bad Mobo?PCU? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2008, 09:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Alright well he got a 500 watt PSU, and it works fine, but now we have another problem. (I didnt encounter this myself but his computer still won't power up.)

What does a blinking blue LED mean? <- this is on the mobo
__________________

__________________
intel core 2 quad Q6600
xfx 680i LT SLI mobo
EVGA 8800 GTS 512mb
2gb OCZ ram (2048mb 1 stick)
lite-on 20x dvd optical drive
western digital caviar 400GB SATA hdd
seagate U9 80gb hdd(old IDE)

windows vista ULTIMATE 32bit
MadRussian is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:27 PM   #22 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Binking blue LED where? On the case, on the motherboard?

Please tell me you got the Antec PSU too. No Rocketfish...
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadRussian View Post
Alright well he got a 500 watt PSU, and it works fine, but now we have another problem. (I didnt encounter this myself but his computer still won't power up.)

What does a blinking blue LED mean? <- this is on the mobo
look at the manual...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:31 PM   #24 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Oh now he fixes it after I ask. Yes look in the manual.

Note: If you edit something after people have looked at your post put "EDIT:" in front of the part you changed.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Oh now he fixes it after I ask. Yes look in the manual.

Note: If you edit something after people have looked at your post put "EDIT:" in front.
sorry i thought i edited fast enough, well yeah. its not the rocketfish, he got an antec
__________________
intel core 2 quad Q6600
xfx 680i LT SLI mobo
EVGA 8800 GTS 512mb
2gb OCZ ram (2048mb 1 stick)
lite-on 20x dvd optical drive
western digital caviar 400GB SATA hdd
seagate U9 80gb hdd(old IDE)

windows vista ULTIMATE 32bit
MadRussian is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:34 PM   #26 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Good choice . Does the board give you any beep code with the flashing light?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:39 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Good choice . Does the board give you any beep code with the flashing light?
no, he can't even turn the computer on. when he presses the power button nothin happens, just the flashing light on the mobo when he plugs the power in
__________________
intel core 2 quad Q6600
xfx 680i LT SLI mobo
EVGA 8800 GTS 512mb
2gb OCZ ram (2048mb 1 stick)
lite-on 20x dvd optical drive
western digital caviar 400GB SATA hdd
seagate U9 80gb hdd(old IDE)

windows vista ULTIMATE 32bit
MadRussian is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:46 PM   #28 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Sounds like the power isn't going to the motherboard properly. Your other "smoking" PSU may have blown it.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card Gone Bad??? KNiGHTMaRe89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-14-2008 12:38 AM
Bad Block Svoloch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-01-2008 04:27 PM
Bad HDD Causing Random Shutdowns? southpole_89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 02:50 AM
iifecca.dll - can't remove it, NOD32 says its bad? Akumajin Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 10-05-2007 04:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.