Bad Mobo?PCU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2008, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Bad Mobo?PCU?

hey guys,

i got a new computer

XFX GeForce 9600 GT Extreme 512MB PCIe w/Dual Link
Trendware 300Mbps Wireless N-Draft PCI Adapters
Thermaltake V1 CPU Cooler for AMD and Intel CPU
Corsair 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz (2x1024MB) DHX
Lite-ON 52xCDRW / 16xDVD Rom Combo Drive Bk Retail
XFX nForce 680i LT SLI Socket 775 Motherboard
Intel Quad Core Kentsfield 2.4Ghz Q6600 CPU
WD Caviar 400GB SATA-3G HD 7200/8MB/SATA-3G
Power Up 800w Power Supply w/2 80mm/Blue
ASPIRE BLACK/BLACK X-PLORER CASE


my brother, friend and I were building it, we put everything together. but when we turned it on the psu was smoking, just a bit. the motherboard LED was lit, so it was still getting power, but i just can't turn it on. and i have no idea if its the PSU, MB or just the button on the case, can anyone please tell me any ideas to help solve this or help trouble shoot. thank you
__________________

Tee.h is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

The PSU shouldn't be smoking, not even one bit. Return it and get a new one.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
The PSU shouldn't be smoking, not even one bit. Return it and get a new one.
yeah, but it was still powering the MOBO and has a short circuit protector.
i think it might just be the power button but idk
Tee.h is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
The PSU shouldn't be smoking, not even one bit. Return it and get a new one.
I'm his friend, we tried this one and an older 250 watt one, the 250 did the same thing. Technically its not enough to power but we tried anyway so it probably is a dead psu. I didnt suspect that even though it smoked because the power LED on the board lit up.
__________________
intel core 2 quad Q6600
xfx 680i LT SLI mobo
EVGA 8800 GTS 512mb
2gb OCZ ram (2048mb 1 stick)
lite-on 20x dvd optical drive
western digital caviar 400GB SATA hdd
seagate U9 80gb hdd(old IDE)

windows vista ULTIMATE 32bit
MadRussian is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

As I mentioned, power doesn't mean anything. If the PSU is smoking something is fried. Also, it won't boot on a 250watt PSU. Did you plug in the 4/8 pin CPU power cable?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
As I mentioned, power doesn't mean anything. If the PSU is smoking something is fried. Also, it won't boot on a 250watt PSU. Did you plug in the 4/8 pin CPU power cable?
Yes we did, plugged in all the cables, double checked, everything was connected perfectly.
__________________
intel core 2 quad Q6600
xfx 680i LT SLI mobo
EVGA 8800 GTS 512mb
2gb OCZ ram (2048mb 1 stick)
lite-on 20x dvd optical drive
western digital caviar 400GB SATA hdd
seagate U9 80gb hdd(old IDE)

windows vista ULTIMATE 32bit
MadRussian is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
As I mentioned, power doesn't mean anything. If the PSU is smoking something is fried. Also, it won't boot on a 250watt PSU. Did you plug in the 4/8 pin CPU power cable?
yeah, it lightly smoked 2 days ago though. barely anything. i think, but not sure about, the pins in the mother board connected to the power button is the problem, but i might just get a power supply at best buy (hate them) and just return the PSU to TigerD
Tee.h is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Why do you think the pins on the motherboard is the problem?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Why do you think the pins on the motherboard is the problem?
now i just want to get one at a store, do you know any stores, like best buy that sells a good over 600watt under 160 PSU
Tee.h is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Bad Mobo?PCU?

You don't need 600+ watts.

Most bestbuys, least that I have seen, have 500 Watts Antecs...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card Gone Bad??? KNiGHTMaRe89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-14-2008 12:38 AM
Bad Block Svoloch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-01-2008 04:27 PM
Bad HDD Causing Random Shutdowns? southpole_89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 02:50 AM
iifecca.dll - can't remove it, NOD32 says its bad? Akumajin Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 10-05-2007 04:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.