Bad GPU or PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2018, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,583
Default Bad GPU or PSU?

Recently my computer has been rebooting during games, almost as if I hit the reset the switch, so I updated my drivers but it still shuts down after about 20-30 seconds of fur mark. I was about to buy a replacement GPU because my 970 is well out of warranty, but then I thought it might be my HX750 that is still under warranty. I don’t have a good way to isolate either because the only spare PSU I have is 430W and I have no spare GPUs.

Has anyone seen something like this before? I am starting to think it’s the PSU and not the GPU.

EDIT: I remembered I had a CX430 laying around unused so I used a molex to 6-pin and put in in my system and no issues under heavy GPU load. Looks like it was the PSU.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 08:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,669
Default Re: Bad GPU or PSU?

Was gonna say the 430 is enough to get a good test in. I've used my eVGA 430b for this same thing before. That thing has actually held up to a Titan X lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,583
Default Re: Bad GPU or PSU?

Yeah the calculations for max output of my system is only like 350W. 430W isn't something I'd want to run for a long time, but I really only need like 550W max because I don't think I'll ever do multi-GPU again.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad PSU or is it a bad mobo? PH3N0M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2008 08:55 PM
Can a bad outlet or bad surge protector cause a bad CPU? kidedward Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-22-2006 12:41 PM
Bad Bad Bad ManBearPig New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-17-2006 09:25 PM
A very bad bad bad extreme situation strydR_ Microsoft Windows and Software 11 11-21-2005 04:37 AM
My Bad Bad Bad Comp *ExTrEmZ* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 22 03-20-2004 05:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.