Bad CPU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2010, 09:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

I will check the socket pins.

I also think that I might have unplugged something, I will check that again. I figured if it was the PSU, it would have came on for a split second or I would have heard something.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 12:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

How do you check the PSU with a paper clip? I know you have to connect two of the wires but which two? If the fans come on, does that mean the PSU is okay? Is it possible for the PSU to be able to power just the fans but not have enough juice for the whole system?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 12:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Bad CPU

You can't check the Power Supply with just a paper clip. The paper clip method just allows the Power Supply to turn on without being attached to the computer. And then you could check all of the Voltages with a Multimeter but that still doesn't mean anything as the Outputs can change dramatically when their placed under a Load.

No, the Power Supply can still be bad even if a fan spins.

Yes, it is more than possible that the PSU can power up a fan but not have enough juice for the whole system.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 01:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Bad CPU

You can turn on an ATX PSU by shorting the green wire to any black wire with a wire or paper clip. This ensures that the PSU is working at least enough to turn on. Then you can use a multimeter (voltmeter) to check voltages on the +5V (red), +12V (yellow), +3.3V (orange), and other output lines to make sure they are around the rated levels.

However, the multimeter is a very small load and won't draw any significant amount of current, so the voltages you are getting are for an unloaded PSU. What you can do is hook up old hard drives and other stuff to the PSU and then measure the voltages to get a more accurate reading of how the PSU acts under load.

You could even just leave the PSU plugged into the PC and use a spare 4-pin connector to test +5 and +12, this should give the most accurate reading as the PSU will be under full load when the PC is all hooked up.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 03:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
You can turn on an ATX PSU by shorting the green wire to any black wire with a wire or paper clip. This ensures that the PSU is working at least enough to turn on. Then you can use a multimeter (voltmeter) to check voltages on the +5V (red), +12V (yellow), +3.3V (orange), and other output lines to make sure they are around the rated levels.

However, the multimeter is a very small load and won't draw any significant amount of current, so the voltages you are getting are for an unloaded PSU. What you can do is hook up old hard drives and other stuff to the PSU and then measure the voltages to get a more accurate reading of how the PSU acts under load.

You could even just leave the PSU plugged into the PC and use a spare 4-pin connector to test +5 and +12, this should give the most accurate reading as the PSU will be under full load when the PC is all hooked up.
How do you use a voltmeter to check the voltages? Where do you hook the positive and ground cable up to?

I just shorted the green and black wire with a paper clip with everything plugged in and both fans came on, the psu fan and the case fan.

The problem with leaving the PSU plugged into the pc is it will not do anything when it is plugged in.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 03:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bad CPU

No offence... This one is a dead ringer for google: Google
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 03:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

I do not have a yellow wire on mine. How do I check for +12volts?

Am I supposed to be checking the volt readings on the main 24 pin connector or the 4 pin connectors?

I just checked the +12 volt reading through one of the 4 pin connectors with a paper clip in the 24 pin connector and I was getting about 12 volts on the yellow wire and 5 volts on the red wire. I know this is not being checked under load but does this mean that something else is wrong?

This might be a stupid question but while testing the PSU with a paper clip, should the video card fan come on? I am guessing not since it is not getting enough power with the 24 pin connector unplugged even though the card has a 6 pin plug connected to it.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 04:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bad CPU

If you have it all plugged in, why not just test with the system on under load?

You didn't even read 1 link from the google search I posted.... As it would've answer all your questions.

If you have the 6 pin in the gpu, it'd stand to reason the fan would go on, as most power for the gpu is feed via the pci-e cable.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 05:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
If you have it all plugged in, why not just test with the system on under load?

You didn't even read 1 link from the google search I posted.... As it would've answer all your questions.

If you have the 6 pin in the gpu, it'd stand to reason the fan would go on, as most power for the gpu is feed via the pci-e cable.
The reason I can't test the system under load is because when I plug the 24 pin connector into the mobo, it will not do anything when I hit the power button. What I meant by having everything plugged in was with the 24 pin unplugged, everything else was plugged in except for the dvd drives when it was tested.

Yes I did read a link or two from the google search you posted.

So the fan is not coming on the video card. Does that mean there is something wrong with the PSU?

Tell me if this makes sense. If I unplug the 6 pin power cable for the video card, the cpu fan does not come on but I can hear the hard drives spin up so I know it was working. I have to have the 6 pin power cable plugged in for the cpu fan to work. Why is that?

EDIT: I got the computer to come on. Honestly I don't know what I did. But I am still having problems. During boot up, I get the Floppy diskette seek error and I hit f1 to continue. As soon as it gets to the Windows loading screen, it restarts. It never makes it any further. BTW, I do have the Pentium D installed.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 06:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bad CPU

Okay, I think I miss interpurated you gpu issue, and i think the whole symptoms...

No, I think the gpu fan is turned on via the gpu being told to turn on by the bios.

So no, the fan shouldn't be running.

Can you boot into the BIOS? that'd be your best chance at a load measuremednt via a 4 pin molex.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Lapping Guide Slaymate Overclocking and Modding 20 08-01-2011 12:01 PM
i7 Overclocking Guide Slaymate Overclocking and Modding 24 03-07-2010 09:01 AM
Bad CPU? Nubbleet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 59 12-16-2009 10:43 AM
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.