Bad CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2010, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Bad CPU

As some of you may know, I have been having trouble with my old q6600 build which I came to the conclusion that the CPU is bad. It would still work, just not like it should, sometimes would not boot up and other times it would but it was real slow.

Well today, I got my old Dell Dimension 9100 back from my sister. Since it is a 775 LGA socket, I decided to try the q6600 in the Dell to make sure it was the cpu that was causing problems. Well, I got it installed and I hit the power button and nothing happens, doesn't even try to come on. I had it on with the original CPU installed and started up fine. The original CPU is a Intel Pentium D@2.8ghz.

Even if the CPU is bad, shouldn't it still come on? Could it be because it is a different CPU than what came with the computer? Could it be the heatsink is installed wrong? But I still figured it would at least try to come on.

With the Pentium D installed, it will start up and run but keeps restarting on me. It doesn't shut down, just restarts. I thought maybe heat was the issue since HWMonitor shows the HDD temps close to 50 degrees. I have no idea what the CPU temp is since HWMonitor does not show anything else but the HDD temps. But if it was heat, wouldn't it shut down instead of restart?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Bad CPU

Your post somewhat confuses me, at first you say the Q6600 doesn't work in either PC, then you say the Pentium D doesn't work, that the PC just restarts over and over....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bad CPU

Firstly, the cmos might need to be reset for the bios to require the new cpu, i doubt it was a quad.
2, theres a good possibility that the dell can't even use a quad.
Just cause its a 775, doesn't mean it can work. My high end 680i a1 rev, can't use the 45nm quads, yet they are 775 chips.

Food for thought.

Did you properly reapply the TIM? BIOS will also tell temp.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

Ok, let me try to clear this up. The q6600 works sometimes in the original build. Half the time it will boot up and you can use it just like normal but when I try to transfer files between two hard drives, the speeds are extremely slow. The other half, it will not boot up at all until I switch the sata connector and then it would fine for a while.

Now when I tried to install the q6600 in the Dell Dimension 9100, it will not start up at all. No lights come on or nothing.

With the original Pentium D installed it would start up fine but will restart after several minutes or so with a message saying this system has recovered from a serious error. I suspected heat might be an issue but I figured it would shut down.

Patonb, how do I find out if it can use a quad? Yes I did reapply TIM and I did not see anywhere in the bios that showed the temp unless I just overlooked it.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bad CPU

google searching came up with a few who couldn't run it. Don't know if its a fact though.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

There is something else wrong. I put the Pentium D back in and I still get nothing when I hit the power button. Could I have done something to it by installing the q6600?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bad CPU

Reset the cmos. unplug the psu, Pull the battery and push the power button.

Should reset the cmos and it might boot
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 08:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Bad CPU

Have you tried reading this maybe it might give you some info.
Need CPU and Mobo details - CPUs - CPU-Components
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 08:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Bad CPU

I have reset the cmos and hit the power button with it unplugged. I have not pulled the battery yet.

I did read through that and didn't find anything useful.

EDIT: I just pulled the battery and didn't help.

I might try a different PSU. I have an OCZ 700 watt GameXtreme PSU, would that work in the Dell?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bad CPU

It'll work.. maybe you did pop the psu.

Also check you didn't bend the socket pins.. though it should have atleast powsered abit..... Hmm, have you ensured you didnt unplg somedthing by accifdent?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Lapping Guide Slaymate Overclocking and Modding 20 08-01-2011 12:01 PM
i7 Overclocking Guide Slaymate Overclocking and Modding 24 03-07-2010 09:01 AM
Bad CPU? Nubbleet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 59 12-16-2009 10:43 AM
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.