Bad CPU? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2009, 09:32 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Bad CPU?

Tested your PSU? Run Memtest yet?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 09:34 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Bad CPU?

How would I test the PSU? It worked fine when I had my E8400 in. And I ran Memtest86+ before with no errors, but I'll run again.
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 09:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Bad CPU?

Well the easiest thing would be to grab another PSU if you've got one spare and chuck it in. Other than that (assuming you're not that much into multimeters) take as much of the load off the PSU as you can. Extra hdds, the optical drive, sound cards, network cards, graphics card if you've got onboard graphics.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 09:39 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Bad CPU?

Try underclocking your memory a little bit or loosening up the timings... could be bad RAM.

edit: +1 to what soul said.
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 09:49 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Bad CPU?

I don't have a spare PSU. And I'm only running what's in my sig with 1 optical. In HW monitor the 12V, 3.3V, and 5V all look fine. I'll try to set the RAM to 1333 see if it can get stable on that. Hoping I don't have to RMA my RAM... been a month without my desktop

Edit: Tested RAM with Intel Burn Test @ 1333 and it failed. Gonna run Memtest86+ again.

Edit: Ok, so I ran Memtest86+ again. Guess I somehow got the modules mixed up the 1st time idk *hits head on desk*? Anyways stick #1 is bad. Failed in Memtest, but the others are fine. Another 1-2 weeks without a desktop for me woohoo! FML
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 06:45 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Bad CPU?

dang that sucks. you should ask OCZ if they cross ship RMA's.

EVGA did for me with my old 680i
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:57 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Bad CPU?

OCZ said I have to pay shipping there... They pay return shipping. RMA just got approved, gonna ship it off tomorrow. Hopefully I can have it back by the end of next week. Dying to use my desktop .
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:22 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Bad CPU?

That sucks... Makes me mad that companies do that. I mean, it's their hardware that failed. They should have to pay the consequences... Not the consumer.
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 11:53 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Bad CPU?

Yeah, that kinda ****es me off, but nothing else I can do but deal with it -_-.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 06:21 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Bad CPU?

Ok, so OCZ received my RAM yesterday. I called them today to ask how long it would be until I can get a replacement. They said the normal turn around time is 48 hours, EXCEPT they don't have the Platinums in stock. I asked if he could give me anything better than the Platinums i.e. OCZ Blades DDR3-2000. Turns out the best RAM they have in stock is the Golds. I didn't pay for the platinums to get them RMA'd with golds. So I have to wait 2-3 weeks for them to get Platinums in. I'm HIGHLY disappointed with them. And I would ask for a $ refund, but I bought them at a price $50 cheaper than they are now, so it wouldn't make any sense.
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is your most favorite CPU and Mobo ? -RockMan- Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 12 09-22-2009 11:53 PM
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM
Startup Error Stack - A Friend Needs Help :( mage1111 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-10-2009 09:48 PM
CPU Fan Error Phaint Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-29-2008 01:58 PM
CPU help. Can some one explain them? White_Wolf System Upgrades 8 07-25-2008 08:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.