Bad Computer, Bad - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2007, 10:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Bad Computer, Bad

When the technician plugged in the mic and the audio to the motherboard, can you show or tell me how he plugged it in the motherboard.
Last week i decided to plug my front USB ports and my audio/mic in as well because my stereo is European and it didnt have American standards to plug in head phones anyway i plugged them in wrong for the first time and it also didnt want to POST, so that can also be the same situation as to you.
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 10:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Bad Computer, Bad

2.2 v on ram? jeez, i run at 1.8v. you might have over volted your ram, i would get a cheap stick of 256 or 512 and try and boot with that.

also, when you reset your bios by removing the battery, did you unplug your pc from the wall?
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 12:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Bad Computer, Bad

^^^
i dont think that 2.2v is high for ddr ram. ddr2, maybe. my xms2 rates at 4-4-4-12 @2.1v, but i can get 4-3-3-5 @ 2.3+v. i am running the risk of torching it, tho. i dont run it that hot all the time. and if it burns up, i guess that means i have to buy that gskill ive been wanting. heh.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Thumbs down Re: Bad Computer, Bad

2.2 volts is high??!

I read, or thought i did, that Crucial Ballistix Tracer's REQUIRE 2.2 volts JUST to work....

that would explain it tho, wouldn't it
sigh
Jethro69 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Bad Computer, Bad

those crucial ram do require 2.2v
what kind of ram do you have, and what are its specs?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Unhappy Crucial

Hi
2x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer's 6400; 800 Mhz 4-4-4-12

I took the comp to a tech. He said it's probably the mobo. I left it there overnight tho so he could check if there's anything wrong with the video card
Jethro69 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Thumbs up Mobo

Well, they tell me my Mobo is fried. So, I've got the P5N-E... should I upgrade??
Jethro69 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Bad Computer, Bad

that, or can you apply for an RMA?

it sounds like you have the same problem as some other asus costomers at newegg. here a link, read the reviews, and consider this motherboard
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
my computer hardware problem has been found...... Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-12-2007 04:33 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.