Bad Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2015, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Question Bad Card?

Hello everyone.

A while ago I threw a R7 260X in my PC. But ever since I got it (and I bought it brand new), the HDMI has never worked; and drivers for the HDMI never install. Not to mention no matter which version of the drivers I try I get at least three BSODs before it half-*** installs to where I can use it (by which I mean the installation completes but the logs show the HDMI drivers failed to install). Now, this hasn't impacted performance in any way I've noticed since I don't use HDMI out, but I've always wondered whether I have a bad card or if Windows 7 and this hardware just don't see eye-to-eye.......and that fact has never shown up in my Google searches. The latter seems less likely to me.

From the little I've found; I guess it's just my luck of the draw. But, I always want to make sure something is actually defective before I consider using it for target practice.\

So, to you, does it sound like I have a bad card or is this some well-known but little-mentioned problem?

Thank you for your time.
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Bad Card?

Could always try reinstalling Windows to see if it's a software/driver issue.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Bad Card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Could always try reinstalling Windows to see if it's a software/driver issue.
Eh, I have. Twice. I usually do a bi-annual re-installation on all my machines because by then I've either replaced/added/removed something important.
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 12:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Bad Card?

I'd say RMA the card then if it's still under warranty.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 84
Default Re: Bad Card?

I'd RMA just to be safe, as you have already re installed and tried the drivers, better to be safe and a get a replacement.
Delta789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Bad Card?

Well I would RMA it, but I bought it last October. Still gonna pull it out of my PC to be safe, though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tech-Forums
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 05:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Bad Card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorax_the_Impaler View Post
Well I would RMA it, but I bought it last October. Still gonna pull it out of my PC to be safe, though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tech-Forums
Should have at least a year warranty on it...
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 11:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Bad Card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Should have at least a year warranty on it...
A good point. I'll look into RMAing it, but if I'm stuck with it......it's not the end of the world. I'll just get a different card and throw that one in an expendable rig. Something old but still working.
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a bad outlet or bad surge protector cause a bad CPU? kidedward Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-22-2006 12:41 PM
Bad Bad Bad ManBearPig New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-17-2006 09:25 PM
A very bad bad bad extreme situation strydR_ Microsoft Windows and Software 11 11-21-2005 04:37 AM
Bad burn process->bad Linux media? piggysmile Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-03-2004 07:57 AM
My Bad Bad Bad Comp *ExTrEmZ* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 22 03-20-2004 05:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.