backing up data - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2005, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default backing up data

how and why do you back up data?
__________________

ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

so if yuor hdd dies or you accidentally reformat you can save it LOL

get an external hdd, or put them on cds
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

how do you accidently reformat?

Best way to find out why to back up your data, buy a maxtor, and use it to store your music on, or any media type.... let it do its thing and put millions of errors in your files and ruin hours or days of work. Store some home videos on it too, so you can lose irreplacable data too.
Sui is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

ohh my bad I forgot to answer how, you backup data on cd, dvd, secondary harddrives, raid solutions(2 hd's as 1), tape backup, there's mor I'm sure.

Most used is cd/dvd, requires a cd or dvd burner, and inexpesive writable disks. Programs would vary depending on what you want to back up.
Sui is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Default

I backup my stuff to DVD's. Why I back them up is so I don't have to worry about losing years of family photos. I also have or HAD videos of recorded TV shows, but they where always to big and took too long to put on discs and keep updated with new episodes. So I lost them recently when my HD failed. Bleh...
Ginkotsu is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 04:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i backup using linux live-cd's. no fancy software for me. i just make a folder called backup, boot into my live-cd, mount my windows partition and copy all important data into the backup folder. that way i avoid all the stupid windows errors about "protected files" or "file in use". then i just burn the contents of that folder to dvd-rom.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.