Azuz P8N-E - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2009, 07:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Azuz P8N-E

received a pc for free from a friend and im planning on setting it up and giving it to my gf as she dosent have a pc. having one issue here tho. the system keeps freezing on loadup or if i enter into bios. its a problem with the MB i know this much. its the Azuz P8N-E other people have had the same issue. the system freezes before windows can load or freezes in the bios. advice?
__________________

spyriadon is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 07:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

What version of bios are you running? There has been many updates if you are not on the current one.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

i have no way of knowing as when i log into the bios itself the system freezes up
spyriadon is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

Unplug everything from the back minus the keyboard mouse and monitor and go from there.
Nick is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

You can also pull the cmos battery for 5 minutes to reset the bios to default. Do you know if your friend was overclocking with this board?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

tried this nothing changed. ive rest the CMOS and nothing has changed ive also tried booting from 3 different HDDs with no change
spyriadon is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

Have you tried different ram configurations? Most notably try to boot with just 1 stick installed.

Keep in mind you do not have to have a hd attached to boot into bios.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

tried booting with no HDD to no avail the bios still freezes ive also trued the ram in all 4 slots and this did not work either. i would flash the bios itself but i cannot find any pins on the Bord to do so
spyriadon is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

download the newest and flash via a floppy if it will let you.

Have you tried a different psu?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Azuz P8N-E

the PSU is fine tested it with a seperate kit and the RAM is fine as i tested in another system im positive its the bios
il go look for a floppy disk now :P not sure if i have one
edit: thanks for the hlp no floppy im afraid so im gonna have to borrow one from collage tomorrow
__________________

spyriadon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.