Award BIOS, strange beep error. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2005, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Award BIOS, strange beep error.

On the odd boot, it'll have one looooong beep. Almost 10 seconds, I'm guestimating. After this loooooong beep stops, there is about 4 seconds of silence, and it repeats itsself. This happens over, and over, and over...

I've looked everywhere and can't find what this means.

It's a VIA P4MA motherboard and has Award 6.00 PG BIOS.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Here ya go: http://www.bioscentral.com/beepcodes/awardbeep.htm

You got memory problems!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Okay. It usually boots fine, though. Just on odd boots. And I don't get any video when it happens.

What's that DOS program that checks memory? I forget now...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I would try memtest to make sure it memory, but error beeps are usally right.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 12:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Have you tried reseating the memory modules? It could be just a bad connection.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it could be like trotter suggested improperly seated. run memtest86 like ste said. from memory though that beep code used to be something to do with cpu.....i think that is when the cpu is clocked to high on some older award bioses.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 06:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

My CPU isn't overclocked. I'll try reseating.

Would placement of RAM make any difference? With two slots, first is 128MB, second is 512MB. Would switching them around do anything?
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Nope, sense you cant run in dual channel it really doesnt matter what slots you use :?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.