Audio Problem.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2007, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 41
Default Audio Problem....

Hi.

I am having a problem with my audio device. I have an HP m7650n desktop and when I go to

Start > Control Panel > Sound, Speech, and Audio Devices > Adjust the System Volume

it is all grayed out and I can't change anything. Second, if I click on Advanced Volume Controls, it says:

"There is a problem with your sound hardware. To install mixer devices, go to Control Panel, click Printers and Other Hardware, and then click Add Hardware."

What is the problem here? I re-installed the driver for the Realtek HD Audio Manager, and it still doesn't work.

Also, sometimes hardware detection pops up and says it's trying to install an unknown hardware, and I think it's trying to install the audio chipset.

Under Device Manager, under the section "Other devices" there is an Unknown Device with an exclamation point on the icon. What should I do with this, and is this a part of the problem?

Thanks in advance.

-sab
__________________

sab3156 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Audio Problem....

It looks like your audio drivers got the boot somehow, this can happen it just kinda does sometimes. If its onboard audio uninstall all your audio drivers that may remain and pop in your mobo driver cd. Install those drivers and then down load the latest from the manufacturers website, whoever made your mobo. If you don't have that cd down load the new drivers and try the same thing as above without the cd. If its not intigrated take out your sound card and uninstall all remaining audio drivers. Restart the PC and install the latest drivers and app package BEFORE you insert the card (Unless the directions specify otherwise). Then powerdown put in the new card, it will detect new hardware. Point it to the new drivers and Bam! Crank up winamp!
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Audio Problem....

And Welcome to T.F.!!! =)
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Audio Problem....

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
It looks like your audio drivers got the boot somehow, this can happen it just kinda does sometimes. If its onboard audio uninstall all your audio drivers that may remain and pop in your mobo driver cd. Install those drivers and then down load the latest from the manufacturers website, whoever made your mobo. If you don't have that cd down load the new drivers and try the same thing as above without the cd.
Thanks for the help. I have a few questions. Should I remove the driver from Device Manager, and should I also remove the "Unknown device" from "Other Devices"???

Also, when it detects the hardware, it is named "unknown" and how am I supposed to tell it where the driver is? Please let me know.

Thanks again.
sab3156 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Audio Problem....

OMG I just found out my Video Card (GeForce 7300 GT) driver got smashed too. I was just trying to run a game, and it's saying that the driver is outdated. I downloaded the "update" (which was the same thing I had before) and it is saying the same thing. WTFFF...
sab3156 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Audio Problem....

Does anyone know what to do???
sab3156 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Audio Problem....

What game were you trying to run? With the sound driver select other and right click it and select update driver. You should already have the motherboard CD in the drive from the manufacture.When you slect other and update driver let it auto install first and see if it findes the driver. If not you will have to browes to the CD Rom drive and point it to the drivers. Sometimes it takes awhile. Like QuaziBee sugestedyou can go to the HP web Site and go to suppeot and download drivers and type in your modle and download the drivers you need for sound. You may also need to install your motherboard drivers also that may be your problem.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Notebook Audio Problem waytoosmall Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-25-2007 10:19 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM
Very funky...audio hardware disappears! cclpgapro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-20-2007 01:04 AM
For Audio Experts only! Stunner1127 Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 03-30-2007 06:34 PM
Audio Challenge Stunner1127 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 12:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.