"An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2013, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Default "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

Ok guys I need some help on this one I get random BSODS and I would like to know if you guys could help! I dont know how to exactly post all the error information so if i need a program let me know and ill get back to you soon.
__________________

splintercell3e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splintercell3e View Post
Ok guys I need some help on this one I get random BSODS and I would like to know if you guys could help! I dont know how to exactly post all the error information so if i need a program let me know and ill get back to you soon.
Look under C:\Windows\Minidumps and see if there are any dump files there. If there are and they're recent, then copy them to your desktop, zip them up, and upload them here.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using TechForums
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

Here it is guys thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip bsod error.zip (25.9 KB, 1 views)
splintercell3e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

Caused by athrx.sys - i.e. your Atheros wireless card. What is the model number of your Atheros card?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

Hey there im trying to find the model number but i cant find it how would i do that?
splintercell3e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

Check Device Manager and expand your Network devices category.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

this is what i get i dont really see much else on ID of the model number
Attached Images
File Type: jpg devicemanager.jpg (96.0 KB, 4 views)
splintercell3e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

What driver version (version and date) do you currently have installed? Click the "Driver" tab.

Also, go to Details tab > select Hardware Ids > and you'll see something like VEN_####&DEV_####

Post that info. I found some drivers for an AR1525, but I would just like to verify that's actually what it is, and the driver is newer than what you have now.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

Hows this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg driver detail.jpg (93.4 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg hardware ID.jpg (92.0 KB, 1 views)
splintercell3e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 01:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: "An attempt was made to execute a non-executable memory"

Via PCI-Database:
Atheros AR5B91
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp50001-50500/sp50498.exe - Not sure what driver version this is
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.