ATI Radeon X1650 Pro 512MB AGP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2006, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 109
Default ATI Radeon X1650 Pro 512MB AGP

Hey guys.. I just got this great video card. I opened the box and began installing according to its instructions and when I turn on the comp... BAM.... red and blue lines occur and I can't see anything else. Anyone knows why this is happening?

Here are my specs

P4 2.4 Ghz (FSB 533Mhz)
1GB DDR 333 Ram
LG Flateron L1715S 17"
Mobo: Intel D845PESV

- ATI Catalyst driver 6.12

Note: I hate the latest chipset drivers for Intel already

Please help!! I don't want to spend my Christmas in the cold....

Murdoc is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

maybe it is dead on arrival. get an rma for it, if the card is definatly the issue. give it a quick check in another PC.

joshd is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

there are only two probabilities, one is that the card has not been installed correctly, and the other is that your cable is loose/damaged. any other possibilities mostly include your card being dead
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 109

so I guess there is only 1 possibility here and that is.. I got lucky and the card is dead on arrival? Lol..

cause I'm pretty sure I tripped check to make sure the power cables were in and that the card couldn't go any further into the AGP slot.
Murdoc is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6

its dead on arrival i had the same problem with a x1300 card so id send it back
nikorasu is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 109

alright. thank you so much guys... Now I have a peace of mind.

Murdoc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.