ATI RADEON 9600xt with IBM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: This case is...
Great! 2 18.18%
Fair 6 54.55%
Poor 2 18.18%
trash... get other 1 9.09%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2005, 02:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34
Post ATI RADEON 9600xt with IBM

i have just bought a new ATI RADEON 9600xt (of EBAY) and i was going to place it on my computer which has a IBM motherboard and to my susprise the graphics card wouldnt work. At first i thought that the board couldnt "handle" the card but i have another computer with the same board and it runs te next card down the 9600se. Now i know that they are two differnet cards but youwould think that they would work?

As i thought that the card had the problem i emailed to owner and after alot of stuffing around i sent the card back and the owner send that he card was fine! but before this email he had send that he will send a new card straight way if i was to leave possitive feedback! so i wonder if the card is working and he is ust trying to get good feedbak?

so cut a long story short i would like to know i any1 has had this problem and if someone would be able to tell me if IBM moherboards are able to handle ATI RADEON 9600xt.

if you could reply asap as i need to get back to the seller soon.

p.s is this what you get for buying of EBAY ?
__________________

[SC]Hawk is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 06:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

how old is the machine, can you give me a model number.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 06:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34
Default

thanks but i checked the combadibilty with the card and it says that it is fine
[SC]Hawk is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 07:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ok, try reseating it. Do you get picture at all?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34
Default

no when i turn the computer on it has a black screen and goes beep beep beep beep and then turns off
[SC]Hawk is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 04:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

just to clear things up, some cards are not compatible with some boards, most likely due to the chipset on the motherboard or some other random conflict.

I had this happen to me once, my 9600 would not run with an ASROCK mobo with the 865GV chipset, but when I switched motherboards to a Gigabyte mobo with 865PE chipset it worked great!
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.