ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2008, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

I asked this in another section and didnt get a good answer, i suppose this is the correct forum to ask.

I just got an ati 1950xt to replace my fried 7900GT. when i installed the ati card, the fan starts working, but there is no video output at all. the screen doesnt come out of power save mode. the fan on the ati card is working and the card gets rather warm.

im not sure what is going on here. after i turn it on, in order to turn it off i have to push the power button for 5 seconds, so i think something is working. is the pci x16 slot fried? do i need a new mobo? or is it a compatability issue?

i figured my computer would start up and i would need to remove old and install new drivers.

on a related note, can i use an ATI card in an nForce4 (nvidia) motherboard?
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

Its definitely not a compatibility issue, I think the Board's PCI-e slot may have gotten fried with the 7900gt
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

good to know its not compatability... i've been trying to find a cheap replacement but no luck so far
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

I'm guessing that its socket 939? those are wayy wayy hard to come by.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

Seems like a silly question but you did remember to connect the PCI-E 6-Pin power right?

Try craigslist for a S939 board. Post that you want one. I did in Toronto a couple months ago and got 10 replies within the hour. Make sure to add that you want a WORKING one .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 12:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

yeah i hooked up the power.
not much luck on craigslist, and i live in OC/LA
these s939's are hard to come by.
i'm tempted to just grab a c2d mobo/memory/cpu combo off craigs list for like 200 rather than a s939 mobo off ebay for 50
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

Oh god.. not another Intel user!

I think you can get one yourself for less
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 08:30 PM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

Seems odd that no one would answer on craigs. I thought OC had a fairly large population? Not the size of TO but still.

Just go for the C2D combo. Only to annoy vern .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ATI gfx card in nforce4 mobo

how many pcie slots do you have? try it in another one if possible.
also, check your cables and make sure they are secure on both ends. if you have another monitor cable, try that. i had a monitor cable go bad on me and i had no video...it drove me crazy trying to find the problem...thought it was the card, mobo, ram you name it.
i'd go with the 46.00 asus S939 mobo on ebay. its OEM, but you obviously have all the right cables. and it has its backplate. and its new.
Asus A8S-X Socket 939 Motherboard for AMD w/PCI-Express - eBay (item 310080322314 end time Sep-07-08 09:58:23 PDT)
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
ATI Card owners POST HERE Preacher Overclocking and Modding 19 01-14-2008 02:30 PM
Ati X1900xtx 512mb Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 15 01-05-2008 09:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.