Ati drivers aren't installing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2006, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Ati drivers aren't installing

Hey, so i've just formatted to xp64bit proffessional, and I try to install my video card drivers, the latest radeon drivers are CATALYST 6.8, but when installing them, it extracts the files, opens up the big ati window, and then says "Unable to load ATICIM.DLL",
so i click on OK and it carries on.

I click that I've read the terms and conditions etc, then when it asks for either a typical or custom install:
If i click on typical, the whole thing just closes.
If i click on custom, it gives me the error "Setup failed to run installation: (0x80040702)."

I googled the problem, and other people seem to have similar problems, and they said that a strange way to fix it is to simply create a folder called 'Desktop' in c/documents and settings/all users, and then everyone said it worked, problem is, i already have a 'desktop' folder there, if i move it somewhere else then i get another error all together.

I've tried catalyst 6.7 and 6.5 (6.5 used to work for me) and the omega 6.7 and 6.5, all those gave me a different error.

amd athlon64 3400+
ati radeon 9800 Pro 128mb
abit kv8 pro motherboard
1 gig ram

Thanks so much for any replys im desperate now
__________________

tump13b is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

It may seem like something basic, but are you sure that you are installing the proper drivers for 64-bit:
https://support.ati.com/ics/support/...e&folderID=367

Also, I'm not sure of your needs to run Windows in 64-bit mode, but you'll likely find more stability and better results if you just stick to 32-bit mode.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah it's definetely the right one, and i've used x64 before and prefer it.

Now i've read somewhere, that someone could only install the drivers, after they'd installed standard vga drivers, thing is i can't find them!

I've looked everywhere, when windows tells me i have a new device and all that it doesn't ever find new drivers, i've checked the windows disk too. When i first installed this fresh os it had standard vga graphics, and i uninstalled them so i could install the catalyst ones.
Thanks


EDIT! ok i've solved my problem. For anybody with the same problem...

I read somebody else say that they could install the drivers through device manager, but it wouldn't install the CCC.

So just go to device manager, double click on the video adapter, go on drivers, go on update driver, and then go to where you find it yourself, and go to the folder

"6-8_xp64_dd_ccc_35180\Driver\XP6A_INF" after unpacking the download from ati. And it will install sweet. I guess it won't work if you want the CCC though according to what that other person said!
tump13b is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

this is the program u need to install first before installing the driver : net framework 1.1
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Lol
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.