ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2012, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

hi im new to computing so i require your help
currently im using a HP pavilion dv6 3006TX which has the following specs:

PROCESSOR: Intel Core i5-430M 2.26GHz, 3MB L3 cache
CHIPSET: Intel HM55 Express Chipset
MEMORY: 4096MB 1066MHz DDR3 (2 DIMM), 8GB Max SUPP
STORAGE: 500GB 7200 rpm
DISPLAY: 15.6" diag High-Definition LED HP Brightview Widescreen display (1366 x 768)
GRAPHICS: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 switchable graphics with 1024MB DDR3 dedicated graphics
OPERATING SYSTEM: MS Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit

when playing bf3 im constantly getting fps lag- sometimes getting 10fps
im pretty sure i can get more out of it but i dont know how
i think i may have uninstalled some ATI/AMD software a while back (catalyst or something) which may be the cause
i redownloaded it but now it says my graphics hardware is not present so it has no effect
if you need anymore details just ask
please help, thanks in advance
__________________

val1ant is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

Do you see CCC (Catylist Control Center) icon in the Control Panel? Also, when you right click on your desktop, it will come up as an option.

I'm only familiar with switchable NVIDIA, not ATI cards. But it should be somewhere in CCC.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

i dont have catalyst control centre installed, though in my control panel i do have 'AMD Catalyst install manager' and 'AMD application profiles'
val1ant is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

Did you download the latest version of CCC?

ATI Radeon
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

ive installed theCatalyst Software Suite, though when i check program files catalyst control centre itself isnt installed-so i downloaded it seperately and heres the error i got:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/35/capturemf.png/
val1ant is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

You have the latest drivers for your card?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

my driver version is:8.771.1.0
and the driver date is:9/09/2010
val1ant is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 11:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

Uh, yeah, you are a bit outdated, my friend.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 12:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Did you download the latest version of CCC?

ATI Radeon
That looks like the desktop version, MoM.

This is the driver for the Radeon Mobility (Win7 x64):

ATI Catalyst

Uninstall Catalyst and download and install this one, val1ant.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 04:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: ATI/AMD radeon HD5950 and battlefield 3; help!

after uninstalling catalyst and running that program im still getting the same error as before
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting
__________________

val1ant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD's ATI Radeon HD 5830 Eval Osiris New Technology and Products 2 02-26-2010 12:30 AM
AMD Announces the ATI Radeon HD 5670 Osiris New Technology and Products 8 01-14-2010 10:18 PM
AMD ATI Radeon Tray Tool Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 1 01-07-2010 08:11 PM
AMD ATi Radeon HD 5870 X2 Spotted Osiris New Technology and Products 6 09-26-2009 02:57 AM
ATI/AMD Radeon HD 2900 XT benchmarks Waphlez New Systems | Building and Buying 35 04-26-2007 06:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.