Athlon-XP Dead? Please Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Exclamation Athlon-XP Dead? Please Help!

Hey guys,

I have an athlon-xp 1500+ that gives me more trouble than any compy ever did to me!

It was overheating. I cleaned the dust from the radiator. Now the CPU temp stays around 50 C. That seems ok to me.

Yet, it keeps freezing! I've tried to install Win2k/XP on it, and there is no way to finish the installation because it freezes on the way.

I tried to install Linux, and it does the same. I took the hdd to another compy, i installed gentoo on it (the hdd went without a problem to the other compy), and brought the hdd back. There is no way it will ever compile the kernel on the athlon. Yet, it runs without problems just let by itself, without much task to do.

I tried to attach it a hdd with an windows 95, old, and ancient. With this one it has no problem at all. It runs without a fail.

Any idea?

I thought the memory could be the issue, but I've checked it with memtest86 and did not find any error. It has 128MB and this should be enough for either Win/Linux.

The motherboard is a Matsonic MS8303EP(266).

Any help would be highly appreciated! It really drives me crazy! And I need this compy...

Thanks!
__________________

navilein is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Get some artic silver 5 and an aftermarket heat sink and fan to cool the processor down.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

it could be the psu or the mobo
get into the bios and goto pc health/hardware monitoring and report back with the voltages , also have a good look on your motherboard and search for bad capacitors see these examples
http://home.earthlink.net/~doniteli/index27.htm
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=195 , and if i were you i wouldnt install on it any windows higher then 98se (for performance reasons 128mb doesnt cut it)
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I do have a heat sink with a fan on top of it. The proc (whenever I look in BIOS stats) shows at most 50C. Yet it freezes even at boot time.
Before, it was overheating (70C) because of a layer of dust underneath the fan. That's gone now. Any remaining efects from that temperature before?

I've also reset the BIOS (just in case).

I don't have AS5 on it, but this would lower the temp only by 1-2 degrees Celsius.

I'll get that AS5; I suspect however is not this the issue.
navilein is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

The info from the BIOS/Monitoring Hardware says that:

CPU Temperature 47C/116F
System Temperature 33C/91F
CPU Fan speed 3750RPM
Vcore 1.728V
Vcc2.5V 2.480V
Vcc3.3V 3.264V
Vcc5.0V 4.972V
+12V 12.416V
-12V -11.393V
SB3V 3.408V
SB5V 4.972V
Voltage Battery 3.408V
navilein is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

the voltages look stable , however some mobo sensors are way off so it may not be stable at all if you wanna know 100% then get a digital multimeter and measure the psu voltages with it see these guides
http://www.ochardware.com/articles/psuvolt/psuvolt.html
http://www.driverheaven.net/guides/testingPSU/

what about bad capacitors in the mobo, have you looked?
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

i looked for bad capacitors; everything seems ok. nothing leaked, nothing exploded.

thanks for your input!
navilein is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

even so it doesnt rule out the mobo although it does make the chances somewhat lower , in alot of similar cases its the psu and as i alredy mentioned some mobo sensors are way off so i highly recommend youll get a digital multimeter and follow the guides^ and report back with the voltages , you welcome
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

okay, i'll do that. i'll have to get a multimetter first.
navilein is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I've mesured teh psu and here is what i've got:

yellow wire: 12.49V
red wire: 5.14V
violet wire: 5.05V
grey wire: 4.46V
orange wire: 3.33V
white wire: 4.98V
green wire: 0.01V
blue wire: -11.78V

Are these ok ?
__________________

navilein is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.