Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 showing up 1.00 GHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2009, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Default Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 showing up 1.00 GHz

I have a Gateway with a Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 and I just added RAM today and when I checked to see if Windows recognized it properly I noticed that my processor speed is showing up at 1.00 GHz. Can somebody tell me if I have a problem here.

PS - I bought the RAM because I thought my computer was running slow. THX

__________________

Griggs2121 is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 showing up 1.00 GHz

Get CPUz from here. Run that and post a screen shot of what it shows. It could just be Windows is not reporting it right or it could be that it is only running at 1GHz.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 showing up 1.00 GHz

Just looking at this I was able to fix it. I have to change something in the BIOS. Thanks for the quick reply!

Griggs2121 is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 showing up 1.00 GHz

From what i see the system is not recognizing that it is more than a 1GHz CPU. I would suggest you check your BIOS to see if that shows the proper speed, if so then we will have to try and figure out why Windows is acting this way.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 showing up 1.00 GHz

The multiplier on those chips are x10. There is your issue. Go into your bios and fix.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 10:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Athlon 3800+ 64 X2 showing up 1.00 GHz

Any updates on your issue?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RV790 Reaches 1.00 GHz thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 25 03-27-2009 11:59 AM
Intel Processor run down VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-28-2008 12:35 AM
Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz Puddle Jumper Overclocking and Modding 13 04-24-2008 11:45 AM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
Athlon X2 Is Dead; Long Live Athlon 6000 Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-02-2008 02:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.