Asus Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Asus Question

ok, It starts out I was in the process of re-installing windows. As a good habbit i guess... I popped in the PowerMax Drive Cleaner to completely write zero's to the drive. I noticed that when it detected my hard drive's it listed them something like...

Nvidia N4 Master - no device
Nvidia N4 Slave - Sony CD-Rom

PCI_E Master - Maxtor 1600JS bla bla...
PCI_E Slave - Maxtor 1200JS bla bla...

There were many more listed saying, Nvidia N4 - no device, and PCI_E - no device

It didn't look like that before... it only listed about 4 things. Such as Master and Slave something. So, my question is... does this mean something is wrong with my motherboard?? It works just fine. I'm also wondering how this could have happened. I would appreciate any help!
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

id depends on how many HD ur using, and virtual drives.

this is how it should look:

Primary master- maxtor.......
Primary slave - maxtor............ since it looks like ur using 2

Secondary master - Sony cd rom
Secondary slave - none (unless ur using more than 1 Virtual drive then thats a problem)
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 08:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

could you give some examples of virtual drives? to my knowledge i don't have any...maybe sd card slots in my photo printer? or flash drives?
ECTech is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 11:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

wat i mean about virtual drive is cd roms/ dvd roms
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.