ASUS motherboard not detected ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 11:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default ASUS motherboard not detected ?

well i have an A8N SLI Deluxe and i put in the CD that came with it and downloaed some drivers... then i clicked the utilities tab and went to install the ASUS Upgrade so that i could flash the bios from online... but when i went to do this it said that there is no ASUS motherboard detected....anyone know how to fix this ???
__________________

eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You may be trying to flash that bios with the wrong flash upgrade!!! Be carefull! If you are successful flashing with the wrong bios upgrade, you will have a frisbee!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

its not the wrong one... but my mobo isnt even being detected....how do i get my mobo to be detected ?
eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Tell me how you are trying to update the Bios? Floppy or from Asus website?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

i can update it through the disk that came with my motherboard..i run the CD...i click the Utilities Tab...then like the 3rd one down it says ASUS Update V6.01.01..and the discription is ASUS Update can help users to download and flash BIOS. Please install Network Card and TCP/IP network driver first, otherwise ASUS Update can not work properly...and when i click it it says no ASUS motherboard detected....
eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Don't use the mobo CD. Go here and follow the instructions:
http://support.asus.com/download/dow...Language=en-us
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 02:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

im not even gonna bother doing it that way cuz i have a feeling im gonna **** something up then my mobo will be useless..and that sux cuz i have a dual core CPU and if i dont flash then it wont reconize the 2nd core....
eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You are making this way to difficult. The website has detailed instructions and support. Just do it!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

alright then..1 question...do i HAVE to use a floppy and not a CD ?..and what one do i follow out of these ?? http://support.asus.com/technicaldoc...Language=en-us
eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 06:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

BUMPP!!
__________________

eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.