ASUS M4A87TD Won't boot with two sticks of RAM. Works with one. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2011, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Arrow ASUS M4A87TD Won't boot with two sticks of RAM. Works with one.

Hi all,

Title says it all. I put in two ADATA 4GB DDR3 1600 sticks and everything started up fine. Then the MemOK light continued and the display was unresponsive. Also the fan to my GPU stopped.

But everything works fine when I leave in 1 stick.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________

Libido is offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: ASUS M4A87TD Won't boot with two sticks of RAM. Works with one.

One of the ram sticks could be bad.
You didn't have them seated correctly.
Did you put the pair of ram in either the blue slots or black slots, but not one in each color.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: ASUS M4A87TD Won't boot with two sticks of RAM. Works with one.

I put them in directly from the packaging when it arrived from NewEgg. Tested both sticks so I know it has to be a Mobo problem. Also, I didn't mix up the slots, though I tried both.

Would this have anything to do with voltage?
Libido is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: ASUS M4A87TD Won't boot with two sticks of RAM. Works with one.

It could be anything at this point, you'll just have to play around with the voltages, timing, speed... and see if anything works.
Like you said, could also be bad ram slot on the mobo.

I don't know if this is possible or not, but use just 1 stick of ram and test out all the ram slots on the mobo to see which slots work and which don't work.
brinks is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 12:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
webster247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default Re: ASUS M4A87TD Won't boot with two sticks of RAM. Works with one.

I had the same problem with same mb. i sent it back and went with this
Amazon.com: ASUS Socket 1156/Intel P55/SATA3&USB 3.0/ATX Motherboard s P7P55D-E PRO: Electronics
On the p7p55d the memOK works just fine. in fact im running dual channal 4 gb 1600 sticks. (16gb) and its running like a champ!
webster247 is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 01:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: ASUS M4A87TD Won't boot with two sticks of RAM. Works with one.

Yeah I have been seeing a lot of similar stories with the mobo. I really dont want to send it back, but if I have to...
__________________

Libido is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Striker Extreme LED Reads "DET RAM" but does not boot with 4 sticks in... Jeuk New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-21-2007 04:32 AM
which ram works best with asus p5 E Izzjess New Systems | Building and Buying 0 02-02-2007 12:22 AM
Anyone know what memory works best with Asus P5B-E mobod? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-14-2007 05:54 PM
Are 4x512 meg sticks of ram faster than 2x1gig sticks. Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-01-2006 04:02 PM
Sick of Asus need a MB that works sic402 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-17-2005 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.